Coupon
Front Lines
by Michael Grant


Overview -

Perfect for fans of The Book Thief and Code Name Verity , New York Times bestselling author Michael Grant unleashes an epic, genre-bending, and transformative new series that reimagines World War II with female soldiers fighting on the front lines.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • $18.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Front Lines by Michael Grant
 
 
 
Overview

Perfect for fans of The Book Thief and Code Name Verity, New York Times bestselling author Michael Grant unleashes an epic, genre-bending, and transformative new series that reimagines World War II with female soldiers fighting on the front lines.

World War II, 1942. A court decision makes women subject to the draft and eligible for service. The unproven American army is going up against the greatest fighting force ever assembled, the armed forces of Nazi Germany.

Three girls sign up to fight. Rio Richlin, Frangie Marr, and Rainy Schulterman are average girls, girls with dreams and aspirations, at the start of their lives, at the start of their loves. Each has her own reasons for volunteering: Rio fights to honor her sister; Frangie needs money for her family; Rainy wants to kill Germans. For the first time they leave behind their homes and families--to go to war.

These three daring young women will play their parts in the war to defeat evil and save the human race. As the fate of the world hangs in the balance, they will discover the roles that define them on the front lines. They will fight the greatest war the world has ever known.


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780062342157
  • ISBN-10: 0062342150
  • Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
  • Publish Date: January 2016
  • Page Count: 576
  • Reading Level: Ages 14-UP
  • Dimensions: 8.4 x 5.8 x 1.7 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.3 pounds

Series: Front Lines #1

Related Categories

Books > > Historical - Military & Wars
Books > > Social Themes - Friendship
Books > > Historical - United States - 20th Century

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2015-11-02
  • Reviewer: Staff

In this skillfully imagined alternate history, Grant (the Messenger of Fear series) envisions a 1940 lawsuit that leads to the draft and the right to enlist being extended to women. He then follows three teenagers who enlist after Pearl Harbor through basic training and on to North Africa. Rio Richlin, an aimless small-town girl, feels moved to enlist after her older sister dies in the war, and is joined by her boy-crazy friend Jenou Castain. African-American Frangie Marr, who dreams of becoming a doctor, enlists to help support her disabled father. And as a Jewish New Yorker, Rainy Schulterman needs little excuse to join the fight against Hitler. Grant pulls no punches about the sexism, racism, and violence his characters encounter. All of the protagonists are well-developed individuals, but also represent every soldier girl who carried a rifle, dug a hole, slogged through mud, steamed or froze, prayed or cursed, raged or feared, ran away or ran toward. This gripping and heart-wrenching tale, which promises a sequel, is particularly apropos considering the Armed Forces current reconsideration of the role of women in combat. Ages 14up. Agent: Steve Sheppard, Cowan, DeBaets, Abrahams and Sheppard. (Jan.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews