Coupon
Fun City : John Lindsay, Joe Namath, and How Sports Saved New York in the 1960s
by Sean Deveney


Overview - On January 1, 1966, New York came to a standstill as the city s transit workers went on strike. This was the first day on the job for Mayor John Lindsaya handsome, young former congressman with presidential aspirationsand he would approach the issue with an unconventional outlook that would be his hallmark.  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • $24.99
  • Members Take 10% Off! Club Price
    $ 22.49

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
 
 

More About Fun City by Sean Deveney
 
 
 
Overview
On January 1, 1966, New York came to a standstill as the city s transit workers went on strike. This was the first day on the job for Mayor John Lindsaya handsome, young former congressman with presidential aspirationsand he would approach the issue with an unconventional outlook that would be his hallmark. He ignored the cold and walked four miles, famously declaring, I still think it is a fun city.
As profound social, racial, and cultural change sank the city into repeated crises, critics lampooned Lindsay s fun city. Yet for all the hard times the city endured during and after his tenure as mayor, there was indeed fun to be had. Against this backdrop, too, the sporting scene saw tremendous upheaval.
On one hand, the venerable Yankeeswho had won 15 pennants in an 18-year span before 1965and the NFL s powerhouse Giants suddenly went into a level of decline neither had known for generations, as stars like Mickey Mantle and Whitey Ford on the diamond and Y.A. Tittle on the gridiron aged quickly. But on the other, the fall of the city s sports behemoths was accompanied by the rise of anti-establishment outsidersthere were Joe Namath and the Jets, as well as the shocking triumph of the Amazin Mets, who won the 1969 World Series after spending the franchise s first eight seasons in the cellar. Meanwhile, the city s two overlooked franchises, the Knicks and Rangers, also had breakthroughs, bringing new life to Madison Square Garden.
The overlap of these two worlds in the 1960sLindsay s politics and the reemerging sports landscapeserves as the backbone of "Fun City." In the vein of "Ladies and Gentlemen: The Bronx is Burning," the book tells the story of a remarkable and thrilling time in New York sports against the backdrop of a remarkable and often difficult time for the city, culturally and socially.
The late sixties was an era in which New York toughened up in a lot of ways; it also was an era in which a changing of the guard among New York pro teams led the way in making it a truly fun city.
Skyhorse Publishing, as well as our Sports Publishing imprint, are proud to publish a broad range of books for readers interested in sportsbooks about baseball, pro football, college football, pro and college basketball, hockey, or soccer, we have a book about your sport or your team.
Whether you are a New York Yankees fan or hail from Red Sox nation; whether you are a die-hard Green Bay Packers or Dallas Cowboys fan; whether you root for the Kentucky Wildcats, Louisville Cardinals, UCLA Bruins, or Kansas Jayhawks; whether you route for the Boston Bruins, Toronto Maple Leafs, Montreal Canadiens, or Los Angeles Kings; we have a book for you. While not every title we publish becomes a "New York Times" bestseller or a national bestseller, we are committed to publishing books on subjects that are sometimes overlooked by other publishers and to authors whose work might not otherwise find a home.
"

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781613218150
  • ISBN-10: 161321815X
  • Publisher: Sports Publishing LLC
  • Publish Date: October 2015
  • Page Count: 376


Related Categories

Books > Sports & Recreation > Football - General
Books > Sports & Recreation > History
Books > History > United States - State & Local - Middle Atlantic

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2015-08-31
  • Reviewer: Staff

Deveney, a longtime writer and editor with Sporting News, nimbly chronicles the ups and downs of New York mayor John V. Lindsay and New York Jets quarterback Joe Namath, two big personalities who faced high demands while riding a humongous wave of late-1960s political and social tumult. By 1965, according to Time magazine, as Deveney notes here, New York City had become “a shiftless slattern, mired in problems that had been allowed to proliferate for decades.” Economic and technological changes left scores of N.Y.C. residents unemployed. Those looking to sports for a distraction only got more grief. The once-powerful Yankees and Giants were felled by age, institutional miscues, and plain old ennui. Change was needed in both spheres. Lindsay, an erudite, handsome 43-year-old Congressman, entered the mayor’s office in 1965 with a progressive mind-set (paying attention to minorities and ghettos), but his patrician air rankled blue-collar workers and their unions. Namath, hedonistic and shaggy-haired, took over as the Jets quarterback that same year, quickly becoming a headline-hogging sex symbol who elicited resentment from his teammates—and swoons from the ladies. This impressively researched history serves as a vivid portrait of the two men’s valiant, if fruitless, quest for greatness in a perpetually unforgiving city. (Oct.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews