Coupon
Furiously Happy : A Funny Book about Horrible Things
by Jenny Lawson


Overview - “Jenny made me laugh so hard I feared for my safety! I think that’s how she was able to get past my defenses and make me feel more okay about myself.” —Allie Brosh, author of Hyperbole and a Half

For fans of David Sedaris, Tina Fey, and Mindy Kaling—the new book from Jenny Lawson, author of the #1 New York Times bestseller LET’S PRETEND THIS NEVER HAPPENED…

In LET’S PRETEND THIS NEVER HAPPENED, Jenny Lawson baffled readers with stories about growing up the daughter of a taxidermist.
  Read more...

 
Audio Compact Disc - Unabridged
  • $34.99
  • 20% off for Members: Get the Club Price
    $ 27.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
 
 
 

More About Furiously Happy by Jenny Lawson
 
 
 
Overview
“Jenny made me laugh so hard I feared for my safety! I think that’s how she was able to get past my defenses and make me feel more okay about myself.” —Allie Brosh, author of Hyperbole and a Half

For fans of David Sedaris, Tina Fey, and Mindy Kaling—the new book from Jenny Lawson, author of the #1 New York Times bestseller LET’S PRETEND THIS NEVER HAPPENED…

In LET’S PRETEND THIS NEVER HAPPENED, Jenny Lawson baffled readers with stories about growing up the daughter of a taxidermist. In her new book, FURIOUSLY HAPPY, Jenny explores her lifelong battle with mental illness. A hysterical, ridiculous book about crippling depression and anxiety? That sounds like a terrible idea. And terrible ideas are what Jenny does best.

According to Jenny: “Some people might think that being ‘furiously happy’ is just an excuse to be stupid and irresponsible and invite a herd of kangaroos over to your house without telling your husband first because you suspect he would say no since he’s never particularly liked kangaroos. And that would be ridiculous because no one would invite a herd of kangaroos into their house. Two is the limit. I speak from personal experience. My husband says that none is the new limit. I say he should have been clearer about that before I rented all those kangaroos.”

“Most of my favorite people are dangerously fucked-up but you’d never guess because we’ve learned to bare it so honestly that it becomes the new normal. Like John Hughes wrote in The Breakfast Club, ‘We’re all pretty bizarre. Some of us are just better at hiding it.’ Except go back and cross out the word ‘hiding.’”

Jenny’s first book, LET’S PRETEND THIS NEVER HAPPENED, was ostensibly about family, but deep down it was about celebrating your own weirdness. FURIOUSLY HAPPY is a book about mental illness, but under the surface it’s about embracing joy in fantastic and outrageous ways—and who doesn’t need a bit more of that?

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781427264787
  • ISBN-10: 1427264783
  • Publisher: MacMillan Audio
  • Publish Date: September 2015
  • Dimensions: 6 x 5.1 x 0.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.4 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Biography & Autobiography > Personal Memoirs
Books > Psychology > Psychopathology - Depression
Books > Psychology > Psychopathology - Anxieties & Phobias

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2015-11-30
  • Reviewer: Staff

Lawsonaka the Bloggessdelivers a captivating roller-coaster ride of a performance that elicits wickedly uproarious laughter and heartfelt emotional catharsis. In this collection of personal issues, Lawson mixes her lifelong struggle with mental and physical illnesses and her quirky brand of humor, connecting those two threads together with the notion that those who suffer the deepest lows should embrace a form of happiness that allows for the wild and uninhibited side of life. Lawson possesses a distinct vocal pitch and tangential style of delivery that matches the unapologetically scattershot nature of her narrative. Her renderings of the daily banter of her marriage to a supportive husband with a diametrically opposite temperament ring with authenticity. As a quirky animal lover who also loves taxidermy, Lawson doesnt miss a beat in giving voice to the rich characterizations she has created for the critters in her life, both living and dead. Her language is not for the faint of heart, but the appeal of Lawsons sheer humanity cannot be denied. A Flatiron hardcover. (Sept.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews