Coupon
Furiously Happy : A Funny Book About Horrible Things
by Jenny Lawson


Overview - “Jenny made me laugh so hard I feared for my safety! I think that’s how she was able to get past my defenses and make me feel more okay about myself.” —Allie Brosh, author of Hyperbole and a Half

For fans of David Sedaris, Tina Fey, and Mindy Kaling—the new book from Jenny Lawson, author of the #1 New York Times bestseller LET’S PRETEND THIS NEVER HAPPENED…

In LET’S PRETEND THIS NEVER HAPPENED, Jenny Lawson baffled readers with stories about growing up the daughter of a taxidermist.
  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • Retail Price: $26.99
  • $17.54
    (Save 35%)
  • 10% Off For Members: Get the Club Price
    $ 15.79

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
 
 
 

More About Furiously Happy by Jenny Lawson
 
 
 
Overview
“Jenny made me laugh so hard I feared for my safety! I think that’s how she was able to get past my defenses and make me feel more okay about myself.” —Allie Brosh, author of Hyperbole and a Half

For fans of David Sedaris, Tina Fey, and Mindy Kaling—the new book from Jenny Lawson, author of the #1 New York Times bestseller LET’S PRETEND THIS NEVER HAPPENED…

In LET’S PRETEND THIS NEVER HAPPENED, Jenny Lawson baffled readers with stories about growing up the daughter of a taxidermist. In her new book, FURIOUSLY HAPPY, Jenny explores her lifelong battle with mental illness. A hysterical, ridiculous book about crippling depression and anxiety? That sounds like a terrible idea. And terrible ideas are what Jenny does best.

According to Jenny: “Some people might think that being ‘furiously happy’ is just an excuse to be stupid and irresponsible and invite a herd of kangaroos over to your house without telling your husband first because you suspect he would say no since he’s never particularly liked kangaroos. And that would be ridiculous because no one would invite a herd of kangaroos into their house. Two is the limit. I speak from personal experience. My husband says that none is the new limit. I say he should have been clearer about that before I rented all those kangaroos.”

“Most of my favorite people are dangerously fucked-up but you’d never guess because we’ve learned to bare it so honestly that it becomes the new normal. Like John Hughes wrote in The Breakfast Club, ‘We’re all pretty bizarre. Some of us are just better at hiding it.’ Except go back and cross out the word ‘hiding.’”

Jenny’s first book, LET’S PRETEND THIS NEVER HAPPENED, was ostensibly about family, but deep down it was about celebrating your own weirdness. FURIOUSLY HAPPY is a book about mental illness, but under the surface it’s about embracing joy in fantastic and outrageous ways—and who doesn’t need a bit more of that?
From our buyer, Erin Crutchfield: I love this book and want to share it with everyone. When I was reading it I know I looked like a crazy person because I kept bursting out in fits of random laughter but this book also helped me deal with that. And how can you not smile looking at that cover?

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781250077004
  • ISBN-10: 1250077001
  • Publisher: Flatiron Books
  • Publish Date: September 2015
  • Page Count: 352


Related Categories

Books > Biography & Autobiography > Personal Memoirs

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2015-08-31
  • Reviewer: Staff

Popular blogger/author Lawson (Let's Pretend This Didn't Happen) writes that this "funny book" about mental illness is not so much a sequel to her last book, but rather "a collection of bizarre essays and conversations and confused thoughts stuck together by spilled boxed wine and the frustrated tears of baffled editors." While followers of Lawson's blog will be familiar with her fascination with unusual topics (e.g., stuffed critters, the mysteries of Japanese toilets), newcomers may initially be jolted by the author's litany of diagnoses (depression, anxiety, autoimmune disorders, phobias, insomnia, etc.) as well as her unique ability to turn life's lemons into hilarious stories. Lawson decides that rather than wave a white flag, she will combat mental illness by being "furiously happy." Helping her stuffed raccoons ride on her cats, visiting Australia in a koala bear costume, and battling menacing swans are just a few of the ways she creates humor in a life that might defeat a less inventive individual. She also shares days of darkness, social anxiety, and a range of fears that sometimes keep her housebound. Though mostly comedic, the text also addresses such serious issues as self-injury and why mental illness is misunderstood. Lawson insightfully explores the ways in which dark moments serve to make the lighter times all the brighter. (Sept.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews