Giant Steps
by John Coltrane

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary


More About Giant Steps by John Coltrane

Track Listing

1 Giant Steps
2 Cousin Mary
3 Countdown
4 Spiral
5 Syeeda's Song Flute
6 Naima
7 Mr. P.C.
8 Giant Steps - (alternate take, version 1)
9 Naima - (alternate take, version 1)
10 Cousin Mary - (alternate take)
11 Countdown - (alternate take)
12 Syeeda's Song Flute - (alternate take)

Genre: Jazz Instrument
  • Genre: Jazz Music
  • Release Date: March 1989
  • Label: Atlantic (Label)
  • Format: CD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Audio Format: Stereo
  • Engineer: Tom Dowd; Phil Iehle
Music Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Rolling Stone (12/11/03, p.120) - Ranked #102 in Rolling Stone's "500 Greatest Albums Of All Time" - "[H]e played with a heated melodic enthusiasm - flying clusters of notes - that declared new possibilities for jazz improvisation..."

Down Beat (1960) - 5 Stars - Excellent - "...[Coltrane] has managed to combine all the swing of Pres with the virility of Hawkins and added to it a highly individual, personal sound as well as a complex and logical, and therefore fascinating, mind...tag this LP as one of the important ones..."

JazzTimes (11/94, p.88) - "...essential for all serious jazz collections....The culmination of 'Trane's sheets-of-sound period...GIANT STEPS brought the chordal improvising of bebop to its breaking point..."

Customer Reviews