Girls in Peacetime Want to Dance
by Belle And Sebastian

Limited Availability. Allow Additional 2-4 Weeks for Shipping.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary


More About Girls in Peacetime Want to Dance by Belle And Sebastian

Track Listing

1 Nobody's Empire
2 Allie
3 Party Line, The
4 Power of Three, The
5 Cat with the Cream, The
6 Enter Sylvia Plath
7 Everlasting Muse, The
8 Perfect Couples
9 Ever Had a Little Faith?
10 Play for Today
11 Book of You, The
12 Today (This Army's for Peace)

Genre: Rock & Pop
  • Genre: Popular Music
  • Release Date: January 2015
  • Label: Matador (record label)
  • Format: CD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Audio Format: Stereo
  • Producer: Ben. H. Allen III
  • Engineer: Jason Kingsland; Bo Bodnar; Summer Jones; Andy Thompson
Music Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Rolling Stone - 3 stars out of 5 -- "[With] a handful of inventive standouts like 'The Book of You,' where B&S shape electronic music around their strengths....Stick it out to the last few tracks and you'll hear the band's familiar marvels in a bright new light."

Spin - "As always, Murdoch's writing is pristine -- learned but unpretentious; complex but not unfocused; revealing but not diary-entry juvenile."

Entertainment Weekly - "Murdoch's acute storytelling eye remains laser-focused, especially on the wry ''Perfect Couples.'" -- Grade:' A-

Magnet - "It's the sound of a group rejuvenated, as intimate and heartfelt as ever, with all the old reference points intact, but giddily embracing a kind of bastardized Euro-disco more often practiced by the likes of Saint Etienne and the Pet Shop Boys."

Billboard - "Belle & Sebastian deliver their most textured, eclectic collection yet. 'The Party Line' is Franz Ferdinand's dance-punk hit 'Take Me Out' with synths and added anxiety."

Paste (magazine) - "True to the title, this is the band's danciest record ever....The good dance songs on here sound equally as at home on a Belle & Sebastian record as they would in a particularly refined club."

Clash (magazine) - "[W]ith the ebullient pop swing of `Nobody's Empire' and mournful strings of `The Cat With The Cream' up with their finest work."

Customer Reviews