by Beck

  • $18.98
  • 20% off for Members: Get the Club Price
    $ 15.18
Add to Cart
+ Add to Wishlist
In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary


More About Guero by Beck

Featured Artists: Petra Haden and Justin Meldal-Johnsen and Money Mark and Jack White

Genre: Rock & Pop
  • Genre: Popular Music
  • Release Date: December 2016
  • Label: Interscope (USA)
  • Format: LP
  • Number of Discs: 1
Music Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Rolling Stone (pp.67-68) - 4 stars out of 5 - "The rhythmic jolt makes the malaise more compelling and complex, with enough playful musical wit to hint at a next step....On GUERO, he finds a way to revitalize his musical imagination..."

Spin (p.64) - Ranked #11 in Spin's "40 Best Albums Of 2005" - "Los Angeles plays itself: the noise of traffic, boom boxes, curbside Spanglish, mariachi music -- the sound of what it's like to be an outcast even in an outsider's hood."

Spin (pp.97-98) - "[A] return to his most popular trick: digging up cool grooves and noises from far-flung neighborhoods and throwing a party where the whole city can get down and make out." - Grade:B

Entertainment Weekly (p.140) - Ranked #2 in Entertainment Weekly's 'Top Ten Records of the Year' -- "[H]e's learned that kaleidoscopic music that digs deep into blues, bossa nova, and electro keeps everything marvelously grounded too."

Entertainment Weekly (No. 813, p.66) - "[GUERO] is the first record on which the many moods and sides of Beck co-exist, and it's about time." - Grade: A-

Uncut (p.100) - 4 stars out of 5 - "Here, again, is where fat dusty beats meet keening bottleneck scrapes....As another installment in the guy's ongoing dialectics, it's as welcome as anything he's done."

Alternative Press (p.132) - 5 out of 5 - "'Rental Car' has a dilapidated bass line that's White Stripes-worthy....And let's not overlook 'Hell Yes,' which brings Beck together with Neptunes-ish beats for a broken hip-hop revival. Long live the king of hip."

Magnet (p.85) - "Remarkably, the shifts in tone and mood only serve GUERO in the end, proof that stepping back to enjoy the broad picture can be just as rewarding as focusing on one detail at a time."

Vibe (p.142) - "[E]ssentially a sequel to his '96 sample-heavy opus."

Mojo (Publisher) (p.92) - 3 stars out of 5 - "'Missing' with wistful melody, swooping Melody Nelson strings, beautifully minimal bass and bossa nova guitar, is a jewel that takes Beck's sonic kleptomania to a new realm."

Customer Reviews