Coupon
George in the Dark
by Madeline Valentine


Overview - For all kids who have ever dreaded the moment when the lights turn off and the bedroom door closes . . .

By day, George is a brave boy. He'll climb the tallest tree, leap over fences, and stand up for his friends, without fear. But when the sun goes down, it's only a matter of time before his parents say good night, leaving him in the dark.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • $16.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

Free Shipping is not available for this item.
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 17 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About George in the Dark by Madeline Valentine
 
 
 
Overview
For all kids who have ever dreaded the moment when the lights turn off and the bedroom door closes . . .

By day, George is a brave boy. He'll climb the tallest tree, leap over fences, and stand up for his friends, without fear. But when the sun goes down, it's only a matter of time before his parents say good night, leaving him in the dark.

In the dark, George's room fills with terrifying sights. The only thing to do is to hide under the covers with his bear. But wait On this night, Bear is not in his bed. Where is it? It's across the room, in the darkest, scariest corner...

Perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket and Jon Klassen's The Dark, this heartwarming tale gives extra reassurance to little ones who are bravely facing their own bedtime fears.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780449813348
  • ISBN-10: 0449813347
  • Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
  • Publish Date: November 2014
  • Page Count: 40
  • Reading Level: Ages 3-7
  • Dimensions: 10.1 x 8 x 0.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.65 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > General

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2014-10-06
  • Reviewer: Staff

During the day, George is the picture of bravery—he stands up to bullies and even eats worms—“But bedtime was a different story.” Valentine (The Bad Birthday Idea) shows George being physically removed from his bedroom door by his “fed up” parents and deposited under the covers with a stern warning to stay put. After George realizes that only he can rescue his beloved Bear, who’s stranded in the middle of the bedroom floor surrounded by all kinds of horror (in reality, the shadowy terrors are simply George’s own toy collection), he finds new reserves of courage—in fact, he’s “almost fearless.” Rendering George and his red jammies in full color while his bedroom is depicted in turbulently textured, graphite chiaroscuro, Valentine strikes a delicate balance between assuring readers that George has nothing to fear while also showing just how deeply frightened he is. There’s a palpable sense of relief mingled with victory in the final scene, as a now-confident George surveys his room and knows he’s master of the house. Ages 3–7. Agent: Rebecca Sherman, Writers House. (Nov.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews