Coupon
Georgia : A Novel of Georgia O'Keeffe
by Dawn Tripp


Overview - NATIONAL BESTSELLER - In a dazzling work of historical fiction in the vein of Nancy Horan's Loving Frank, Dawn Tripp brings to life Georgia O'Keeffe, her love affair with photographer Alfred Stieglitz, and her quest to become an independent artist.  Read more...

 
Paperback
  • Retail Price: $17.00
  • $12.41
    (Save 27%)
  • 20% off for Members: Get the Club Price
    $ 9.93

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock. Place Order by Noon EST December 18th and Choose Free/Standard Shipping for Christmas Delivery.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 25 copies from $4.43
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Georgia by Dawn Tripp
 
 
 
Overview
NATIONAL BESTSELLER - In a dazzling work of historical fiction in the vein of Nancy Horan's Loving Frank, Dawn Tripp brings to life Georgia O'Keeffe, her love affair with photographer Alfred Stieglitz, and her quest to become an independent artist.

This is not a love story. If it were, we would have the same story. But he has his, and I have mine.

In 1916, Georgia O'Keeffe is a young, unknown art teacher when she travels to New York to meet Stieglitz, the famed photographer and art dealer, who has discovered O'Keeffe's work and exhibits it in his gallery. Their connection is instantaneous. O'Keeffe is quickly drawn into Stieglitz's sophisticated world, becoming his mistress, protege, and muse, as their attraction deepens into an intense and tempestuous relationship and his photographs of her, both clothed and nude, create a sensation.

Yet as her own creative force develops, Georgia begins to push back against what critics and others are saying about her and her art. And soon she must make difficult choices to live a life she believes in.

A breathtaking work of the imagination, Georgia is the story of a passionate young woman, her search for love and artistic freedom, the sacrifices she will face, and the bold vision that will make her a legend.

Praise for Georgia

"Complex and original . . . Georgia conveys O'Keeffe's joys and disappointments, rendering both the woman and the artist with keenness and consideration."--The New York Times Book Review

"As magical and provocative as O'Keeffe's lush paintings of flowers that upended the art world in the 1920s . . . Tripp inhabits Georgia's psyche so deeply that the reader can practically feel the paintbrush in hand as she creates her abstract paintings and New Mexico landscapes. . . . Evocative from the first page to the last, Tripp's Georgia is a romantic yet realistic exploration of the sacrifices one of the foremost artists of the twentieth century made for love."--USA Today

"Sexually charged . . . insightful . . . Dawn Tripp humanizes an artist who is seen in biographies as more icon than woman. Her sensuous novel is as finely rendered as an O'Keeffe painting."--The Denver Post

"A vivid work forged from the actual events of O'Keeffe's life . . . Tripp] imbues the novel with a protagonist who forces the reader to consider the breadth of O'Keeffe's talent, business savvy, courage and wanderlust. . . . She] is vividly alive as she grapples with success, fame, integrity, love and family."--Salon

"Masterful . . . The book is a lovely portrayal of an iconic artist who is independent and multidimensional. Tripp's O'Keeffe is a woman hoping to break free of conventional definitions of art, life and gender, as well as a woman of deep passion and love."--Milwaukee Journal Sentinel

"O'Keeffe blazes across the pages in Tripp's tour de force about this indomitable woman. . . . Tripp has hit her stride here, bringing to life one of the most remarkable artists of the twentieth century with veracity, heart, and panache."--Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"I devoured this dazzling novel about an American icon. Dawn Tripp brings Georgia O'Keeffe so fully to life on every page and, with great wisdom, examines the very nature of love, longing, femininity, and art."--J. Courtney Sullivan, New York Times bestselling author of Maine and The Engagements

From the Hardcover edition.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780812981865
  • ISBN-10: 0812981863
  • Publisher: Random House Trade
  • Publish Date: January 2017
  • Page Count: 352
  • Dimensions: 8 x 5.2 x 0.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.5 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Literary
Books > Fiction > Historical - General
Books > Fiction > Biographical

 
BookPage Reviews

Book clubs: A doomed journey

Ariel Lawhon’s intriguing novel Flight of Dreams (Anchor, $16.95, 384 pages, ISBN 9781101873922) focuses on the tragic 1937 flight of the Hindenburg. The large airship departed from Frankfurt, Germany, on May 3 and blew up on May 6 in Lakehurst, New Jersey. Was the explosion an accident? A crime? Lawhon plays with the possibilities in this gripping whodunit, which features an unforgettable cast of players. The novel’s chapters are named for separate characters, each based on a real-life Hindenburg passenger. “The Stewardess,” an attractive widow named Emilie Imhoff, is falling for “The Navigator,” Max Zabel. Gertrud Adelt, “The Journalist,” is preoccupied by “The American,” a shady sort who seems to be up to no good. Suspense mounts as the novel unfolds, and the reader begins to wonder who will survive the flight. Lawhon is in perfect command of her material, and she makes wonderful use of the details of the era, creating a lavish portrait of life on the ship and the intimate goings-on between its passengers. There is much to savor in this authentic depiction of the Hindenburg’s disastrous journey.

SPACE AND TIME

Antonia Hayes’ debut novel, Relativity (Gallery, $16, 368 pages, ISBN 9781501105081), is a poignant family story centered on gifted 12-year-old Ethan Forsythe. Brought up by his mother, Claire, in Sydney, Australia, Ethan is fascinated by physics, in part because of his synesthesia, a condition that allows him to visualize scientific marvels such as sound waves. Teased at school, Ethan is a fragile boy with few memories of his dad, Mark, who lives on the other side of the continent. When Mark comes to Sydney to visit his dying father, he bonds with Ethan through their mutual interest in science and tries to make a go of domestic life with Claire. But a troubling secret from the past threatens to keep the family apart. Hayes deftly incorporates elements of science into the narrative, and she develops the delicate but brilliant Ethan into an intriguing character. Her portrayal of a family trying to come together despite a painful past has depth, compassion and just the right dose of drama. This is an assured first novel that offers book clubs many subjects for discussion.

TOP PICK FOR BOOK CLUBS

In her impressive historical novel, Georgia (Random House, $17, 352 pages, ISBN 9780812981865), Dawn Tripp delves into the life of visionary artist Georgia O’Keeffe. In Texas in the early 1900s, O’Keeffe struggles to make ends meet as an art teacher. Her decision to mail her drawings to photographer Alfred Stieglitz, who owns an art gallery in New York, changes her life forever. When the two meet, they feel an unmistakable attraction and eventually fall in love. Stieglitz, who is 23 years older than O’Keeffe, acts as her advisor, while she, in turn, serves as his muse. In Tripp’s hands, the story of how O’Keeffe transcends his influence and forges a name for herself as a painter makes for a fascinating narrative. The author drew on the couple’s real-life correspondence to create a riveting account of their turbulent relationship. This acclaimed novel is a must-read for art fans and lovers of historical fiction.

 
BAM Customer Reviews