Coupon
Georgia : A Novel of Georgia O'Keeffe
by Dawn Tripp


Overview - NATIONAL BESTSELLER - In a dazzling work of historical fiction in the vein of Nancy Horan's Loving Frank, Dawn Tripp brings to life Georgia O'Keeffe, her love affair with photographer Alfred Stieglitz, and her quest to become an independent artist.  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • $28.00
  • 20% off for Members: Get the Club Price
    $ 22.40
Sorry: This item is not currently available.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Georgia by Dawn Tripp
 
 
 
Overview
NATIONAL BESTSELLER - In a dazzling work of historical fiction in the vein of Nancy Horan's Loving Frank, Dawn Tripp brings to life Georgia O'Keeffe, her love affair with photographer Alfred Stieglitz, and her quest to become an independent artist.
This is not a love story. If it were, we would have the same story. But he has his, and I have mine.
In 1916, Georgia O'Keeffe is a young, unknown art teacher when she travels to New York to meet Stieglitz, the famed photographer and art dealer, who has discovered O'Keeffe's work and exhibits it in his gallery. Their connection is instantaneous. O'Keeffe is quickly drawn into Stieglitz's sophisticated world, becoming his mistress, protege, and muse, as their attraction deepens into an intense and tempestuous relationship and his photographs of her, both clothed and nude, create a sensation.
Yet as her own creative force develops, Georgia begins to push back against what critics and others are saying about her and her art. And soon she must make difficult choices to live a life she believes in.
A breathtaking work of the imagination, Georgia is the story of a passionate young woman, her search for love and artistic freedom, the sacrifices she will face, and the bold vision that will make her a legend.
Praise for Georgia

"Complex and original . . . Georgia conveys O'Keeffe's joys and disappointments, rendering both the woman and the artist with keenness and consideration."--The New York Times Book Review
"As magical and provocative as O'Keeffe's lush paintings of flowers that upended the art world in the 1920s . . . Tripp inhabits Georgia's psyche so deeply that the reader can practically feel the paintbrush in hand as she creates her abstract paintings and New Mexico landscapes. . . . Evocative from the first page to the last, Tripp's Georgia is a romantic yet realistic exploration of the sacrifices one of the foremost artists of the twentieth century made for love."--USA Today

"Sexually charged . . . insightful . . . Dawn Tripp humanizes an artist who is seen in biographies as more icon than woman. Her sensuous novel is as finely rendered as an O'Keeffe painting."--The Denver Post
"A vivid work forged from the actual events of O'Keeffe's life . . . Tripp] imbues the novel with a protagonist who forces the reader to consider the breadth of O'Keeffe's talent, business savvy, courage and wanderlust. . . . She] is vividly alive as she grapples with success, fame, integrity, love and family."--Salon
"Masterful . . . The book is a lovely portrayal of an iconic artist who is independent and multidimensional. Tripp's O'Keeffe is a woman hoping to break free of conventional definitions of art, life and gender, as well as a woman of deep passion and love."--Milwaukee Journal Sentinel
"O'Keeffe blazes across the pages in Tripp's tour de force about this indomitable woman. . . . Tripp has hit her stride here, bringing to life one of the most remarkable artists of the twentieth century with veracity, heart, and panache."--Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"I devoured this dazzling novel about an American icon. Dawn Tripp brings Georgia O'Keeffe so fully to life on every page and, with great wisdom, examines the very nature of love, longing, femininity, and art."--J. Courtney Sullivan, New York Times bestselling author of Maine and The Engagements

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781400069538
  • ISBN-10: 140006953X
  • Publisher: Random House Inc
  • Publish Date: February 2016
  • Page Count: 318
  • Dimensions: 1.5 x 6.5 x 9.5 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.25 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Literary
Books > Fiction > Biographical
Books > Fiction > Historical - General

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2016-01-11
  • Reviewer: Staff

American artist Georgia O'Keeffe blazes across the pages in Tripp's tour de force about this indomitable woman, whose life was both supported and stymied by the love of her life, photographer and art promoter Alfred Stieglitz. The author manages to get inside O'Keeffe's mind to such an extent that readers experience her transformation from a somewhat shy Texan art teacher who decided to throw away the rules to create her own art to the accomplished, strong-willed woman who held to her artistic vision; they will feel the passion that infused her work and love life that emboldened her canvases. Especially eye-opening is the way Stieglitz's nude photographs of O'Keeffe not only amazed and scandalized the art world, but shadowed the perception of her paintings and her identity, a consequence that haunted her most of her life until she made New Mexico her permanent home and reinvented herself as a solitary artist of the Western landscape. The relationship between Stieglitz and O'Keeffe, and her metamorphosis from lover to wife to jilted partner, is poignantly drawn. Tripp has hit her stride here, bringing to life one of the most remarkable artists of the 20th century with veracity, heart, and panache. (Feb.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews