Coupon
Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit
by Jaye Robin Brown


Overview -

Joanna meets the perfect girl for her and must decide whether to break a promise that could change everything for her and her family or lose out on love in this charming young adult romance that s perfect for fans of Julie Murphy s Dumplin and Becky Albertalli s Simon vs.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • Retail Price: $17.99
  • $11.99
    (Save 33%)

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 

More About Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit by Jaye Robin Brown
 
 
 
Overview

Joanna meets the perfect girl for her and must decide whether to break a promise that could change everything for her and her family or lose out on love in this charming young adult romance that s perfect for fans of Julie Murphy s Dumplin and Becky Albertalli s Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda.

Joanna Gordon has been out and proud for years, but when her popular radio evangelist father remarries and decides to move all three of them from Atlanta to the more conservative Rome, Georgia, he asks Jo to do the impossible: to lie low for the rest of her senior year. And Jo reluctantly agrees.

Although it is (mostly) much easier for Jo to fit in as a straight girl, things get complicated when she meets Mary Carlson, the oh-so-tempting sister of her new friend at school. But Jo couldn t possibly think of breaking her promise to her dad. Even if she s starting to fall for the girl. Even if there s a chance Mary Carlson might be interested in her, too. Right?

"

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780062270986
  • ISBN-10: 0062270982
  • Publisher: Harper Teen
  • Publish Date: August 2016
  • Page Count: 432
  • Reading Level: Ages 14-UP


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Love & Romance
Books > Juvenile Fiction > LGBT
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Religious - Christian - Relationships

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2016-05-23
  • Reviewer: Staff

Joanna has always been out as a lesbian to her minister father, but now that he is remarrying and moving them from tolerant Atlanta to a small Georgia town, he asks her to “lie low.” Initially, it doesn’t seem so bad: it’s only a year until she graduates from high school, and it turns out that finding friends who share her Christian faith is kind of great. Then one of Jo’s new friends reveals that she has feelings for her, and that she isn’t interested in hiding. Brown (No Place to Fall) ably depicts Jo’s conundrum: if she tells the truth, she breaks her promise to her father; if she doesn’t, she risks losing the first girl she’s been serious about. Faith matters in this book, but so do family, friends, and being funny. The dialogue is snappy—Joanna is sharp tongued and sometimes bratty—and the characters aren’t types. Rather, they’re individuals navigating a complicated world, which makes for a rich and satisfying read. Ages 14–up Agent: Alexandra Machinist, ICM. (Aug.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews