Coupon
Girl Against the Universe
by Paula Stokes


Overview -

From the author of The Art of Lainey and Liars, Inc. comes a fresh, contemporary story about one girl s tragic past and a boy who convinces her that maybe her luck is about to change. Perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen or Jenny Han.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • $17.99
  • Members Save 10% Club Price
    $ 16.19

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Girl Against the Universe by Paula Stokes
 
 
 
Overview

From the author of The Art of Lainey and Liars, Inc. comes a fresh, contemporary story about one girl s tragic past and a boy who convinces her that maybe her luck is about to change. Perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen or Jenny Han.

Maguire knows she s bad luck. No matter how many charms she buys off the internet or good luck rituals she performs each morning, horrible things happen when Maguire is around. Like that time her brother, father, and uncle were all killed in a car crash and Maguire walked away with barely a scratch. But then on her way out of her therapist s office, she meets Jordy, an aspiring tennis star, who wants to help Maguire break her unlucky streak. Maguire knows that the best thing she can do for Jordy is to stay away, but staying away may be harder than she thought.

"

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780062379962
  • ISBN-10: 0062379968
  • Publisher: Harper Teen
  • Publish Date: May 2016
  • Page Count: 400
  • Reading Level: Ages 13-UP


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Social Themes - Friendship
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Love & Romance
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Social Themes - Adolescence

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2016-03-14
  • Reviewer: Staff

In a romance built around tennis and psychotherapy, Stokes (Liars, Inc.) introduces high school junior Maguire Kelly, who believes that she causes terrible things to happen to everyone around her, and has isolated herself following a series of tragedies. Maguire’s attitude softens, slightly, after she meets a young tennis star, Jordy, in the lobby of their therapist’s office. With help from her therapist, Maguire assembles a list of goals for regaining a social life (including making the tennis team) and a road map for overcoming the debilitating belief that she is cursed. The bad luck that continues to follow her (a tennis mishap with Jordy, an unfortunate fall by his sister, etc.) can feel like interruptions to this otherwise engaging story. Though Maguire’s struggle with her perceived bad luck is meant to be the plot’s key hook, its true appeal lies with Stokes’s well-developed characters—Maguire’s caring family, her new best friend, her insightful therapist—and in the way Maguire and Jordy support each other’s efforts to conquer the challenges they face. Ages 13–up. Agent: Jennifer Laughran, Andrea Brown Literary Agency. (May)

 
BAM Customer Reviews