Girl in the Blue Coat
by Monica Hesse


Overview - The bestselling, "gripping" ( Entertainment Weekly ), "powerful" ( Hypable ), "utterly thrilling" ( Paste.com ) winner of the Edgar Award for Best Young Adult Mystery, perfect for readers of Kristin Hannah and Ruta Sepetys

Amsterdam, 1943.  Read more...


 
In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 51 copies from $4.10
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. and Canada billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Girl in the Blue Coat by Monica Hesse
 
 
 
Overview
The bestselling, "gripping" (Entertainment Weekly), "powerful" (Hypable), "utterly thrilling" (Paste.com) winner of the Edgar Award for Best Young Adult Mystery, perfect for readers of Kristin Hannah and Ruta Sepetys

Amsterdam, 1943. Hanneke spends her days procuring and delivering sought-after black market goods to paying customers, her nights hiding the true nature of her work from her concerned parents, and every waking moment mourning her boyfriend, who was killed on the Dutch front lines when the Germans invaded. She likes to think of her illegal work as a small act of rebellion.
On a routine delivery, a client asks Hanneke for help. Expecting to hear that Mrs. Janssen wants meat or kerosene, Hanneke is shocked by the older woman's frantic plea to find a person--a Jewish teenager Mrs. Janssen had been hiding, who has vanished without a trace from a secret room. Hanneke initially wants nothing to do with such dangerous work, but is ultimately drawn into a web of mysteries and stunning revelations that lead her into the heart of the resistance, open her eyes to the horrors of the Nazi war machine, and compel her to take desperate action.
Beautifully written, intricately plotted, and meticulously researched, Girl in the Blue Coat is an extraordinary novel about bravery, grief, and love in impossible times.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780316260633
  • ISBN-10: 0316260630
  • Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
  • Publish Date: April 2017
  • Page Count: 320
  • Reading Level: Ages 13-17
  • Dimensions: 8.2 x 5.4 x 0.9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.6 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Young Adult Fiction > Historical - Europe
Books > Young Adult Fiction > Historical - Holocaust
Books > Young Adult Fiction > Mysteries & Detective Stories

 
BAM Customer Reviews