Coupon
The Girl Who Saved Christmas
by Matt Haig and Chris Mould


Overview - From the bestselling author of A Boy Called Christmas comes a hilarious and heartwarming holiday tale for fans of Roald Dahl and Charles Dickens's A Christmas Carol that imagines the story of the first child to ever receive a Christmas present.  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • Retail Price: $16.99
  • $15.04
    (Save 11%)
  • 20% off for Members: Get the Club Price
    $ 12.03

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock. Place Order by Noon EST December 18th and Choose Free/Standard Shipping for Christmas Delivery.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 16 copies from $9.17
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 

More About The Girl Who Saved Christmas by Matt Haig; Chris Mould
 
 
 
Overview
From the bestselling author of A Boy Called Christmas comes a hilarious and heartwarming holiday tale for fans of Roald Dahl and Charles Dickens's A Christmas Carol that imagines the story of the first child to ever receive a Christmas present.

"Matt Haig has an empathy for the human condition, the light and the dark of it, and he uses the full palette to build his excellent stories." --Neil Gaiman, Newbery-winning author of The Graveyard Book


Amelia Wishart was the first child ever to receive a Christmas present. It was her Christmas spirit that gave Santa the extra boost of magic he needed to make his first trip around the world. But now Amelia is in trouble.

When her mother falls ill, she is sent to the workhouse to toil under cruel Mr. Creeper. For a whole year, Amelia scrubs the floors and eats watery gruel, without a whiff of kindness to keep her going. It's not long before her hope begins to drain away.

Meanwhile, up at the North Pole, magic levels dip dangerously low as Christmas approaches, and Santa knows that something is gravely wrong. With the help of his trusty reindeer, a curious cat, and Charles Dickens, he sets out to find Amelia, the only girl who might be able to save Christmas. But first Amelia must learn to believe again. . . .

""With a little bit of naughty and a lot of nice, this Christmastime yarn is a veritable sugarplum." --Kirkus Reviews

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781524700447
  • ISBN-10: 1524700444
  • Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
  • Publish Date: October 2017
  • Page Count: 320
  • Reading Level: Ages 8-12
  • Dimensions: 8.3 x 5.6 x 1.3 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.97 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Holidays & Celebrations - Christmas & Advent
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Fantasy & Magic
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Humorous Stories

 
BAM Customer Reviews