Coupon
The Girl Who Slept with God
by Val Brelinski


Overview - "Fine, carefully wrought . . . reading this novel is] a heartening experience." --The New York Times Book Review

"Brelinski's page-turning debut is full of humor, insight, and imaginative sympathy. Think of it as the annunciation of a new talent." -- The Wall Street Journal

"A revelation." --Vanity Fair

" Brelinski] had readers hooked from page 1." --Elle

For Fans of Celeste Ng's Everything I Never Told You and Meg Wolitzer's The Interestings , an entrancing literary debut about religion, science, secrets, and the power and burden of family from recent Wallace Stegner Fellow Val Brelinski

Set in Arco, Idaho, in 1970, Val Brelinski's powerfully affecting first novel tells the story of three sisters: young Frances, gregarious and strong-willed Jory, and moral-minded Grace.  Read more...


 
In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 46 copies from $3.48
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 

More About The Girl Who Slept with God by Val Brelinski
 
 
 
Overview
"Fine, carefully wrought . . . reading this novel is] a heartening experience." --The New York Times Book Review

"Brelinski's page-turning debut is full of humor, insight, and imaginative sympathy. Think of it as the annunciation of a new talent." --The Wall Street Journal

"A revelation." --Vanity Fair

" Brelinski] had readers hooked from page 1." --Elle

For Fans of Celeste Ng's Everything I Never Told You and Meg Wolitzer's The Interestings, an entrancing literary debut about religion, science, secrets, and the power and burden of family from recent Wallace Stegner Fellow Val Brelinski

Set in Arco, Idaho, in 1970, Val Brelinski's powerfully affecting first novel tells the story of three sisters: young Frances, gregarious and strong-willed Jory, and moral-minded Grace. Their father, Oren, is a respected member of the community and science professor at the local college. Yet their mother's depression and Grace's religious fervor threaten the seemingly perfect family, whose world is upended when Grace returns from a missionary trip to Mexico and discovers she's pregnant with--she believes--the child of God.

Distraught, Oren sends Jory and Grace to an isolated home at the edge of the town. There, they prepare for the much-awaited arrival of the baby while building a makeshift family that includes an elderly eccentric neighbor and a tattooed social outcast who drives an ice cream truck.

The Girl Who Slept with God is a literary achievement about a family's desperate need for truth, love, purity, and redemption.

From the Hardcover edition.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780143109433
  • ISBN-10: 014310943X
  • Publisher: Penguin Books
  • Publish Date: July 2016
  • Page Count: 384
  • Dimensions: 8.1 x 5.4 x 0.9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.75 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Literary
Books > Fiction > Family Life - General
Books > Fiction > Religious - General

 
BAM Customer Reviews