Coupon
The Girls in the Garden
by Lisa Jewell


Overview - Full of suspense yet emotionally grounded Fans of Liane Moriarty, Paula Hawkins, and Carla Buckley will adore this peek inside a gated community that truly takes care of its own, no matter the consequences." "Booklist" (starred review)
Imagine that you live on a picturesque communal garden square, an oasis in urban London where your children run free, in and out of other people s houses.
  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • $25.00

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 36 copies from $5.85
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

Customers Also Bought

More About The Girls in the Garden by Lisa Jewell
 
 
 
Overview
Full of suspense yet emotionally grounded Fans of Liane Moriarty, Paula Hawkins, and Carla Buckley will adore this peek inside a gated community that truly takes care of its own, no matter the consequences." "Booklist" (starred review)
Imagine that you live on a picturesque communal garden square, an oasis in urban London where your children run free, in and out of other people s houses. You ve known your neighbors for years and you trust them. Implicitly. You think your children are safe. But are they really?
On a midsummer night, as a festive neighborhood party is taking place, preteen Pip discovers her thirteen-year-old sister Grace lying unconscious and bloody in a hidden corner of a lush rose garden. What really happened to her? And who is responsible?
Dark secrets, a devastating mystery, and the games both children and adults play all swirl together in this gripping novel, packed with utterly believable characters and page-turning suspense. Fans of Liane Moriarty and Jojo Moyes will be captivated by "The Girls in the Garden," the next unforgettable novel by "New York Times" bestselling author Lisa Jewell."


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781476792217
  • ISBN-10: 1476792216
  • Publisher: Atria Books
  • Publish Date: June 2016
  • Page Count: 320
  • Dimensions: 9.2 x 6.3 x 1.2 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Contemporary Women
Books > Fiction > Family Life
Books > Fiction > Thrillers - Suspense

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2016-04-25
  • Reviewer: Staff

Clare and her two daughters, 12-year-old Pip and 13-year-old Grace, move into a “cute little flat” near a Narnia-like park in London. When the girls make friends with the neighbors and the park clique, it looks like they are on the right path. But on the night of Grace’s birthday, she goes missing. When she is found, she is partially undressed, unconscious, and bloody. No friends, neighbors, or even husbands are above suspicion as the taut mystery unravels to reveal the neighborhood’s dark secrets. Jewell (The Third Wife) jumps straight into the story with the discovery of Grace, then flashes to the past, setting up an eerie foreshadowing of the events to occur. Rich characterization and intricate plot development are combined with mid-chapter cliffhangers that cut from one character’s point of view to the next, resulting in a riveting pace. Vivid descriptions of the bucolic park contrast with the evil lurking around the themes of teenage sexuality, perversion, peer pressure, and the desire for a complete family. Jewell adeptly creates a pervasive atmosphere of unease in this well-spun narrative. (June)

 
BAM Customer Reviews