Coupon
The Girls
by Emma Cline


Overview - NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER An indelible portrait of girls, the women they become, and that moment in life when everything can go horribly wrong this stunning first novel is perfect for readers of Jeffrey Eugenides s The Virgin Suicides and Jennifer Egan s A Visit from the Goon Squad .  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • Retail Price: $27.00
  • $17.52
    (Save 35%)
  • Members Save 10% Club Price
    $ 15.77

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About The Girls by Emma Cline
 
 
 
Overview
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER An indelible portrait of girls, the women they become, and that moment in life when everything can go horribly wrong this stunning first novel is perfect for readers of Jeffrey Eugenides sThe Virgin Suicides and Jennifer Egan s A Visit from the Goon Squad.
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE WASHINGTON POST
Northern California, during the violent end of the 1960s. At the start of summer, a lonely and thoughtful teenager, Evie Boyd, sees a group of girls in the park, and is immediately caught by their freedom, their careless dress, their dangerous aura of abandon. Soon, Evie is in thrall to Suzanne, a mesmerizing older girl, and is drawn into the circle of a soon-to-be infamous cult and the man who is its charismatic leader. Hidden in the hills, their sprawling ranch is eerie and run down, but to Evie, it is exotic, thrilling, charged a place where she feels desperate to be accepted. As she spends more time away from her mother and the rhythms of her daily life, and as her obsession with Suzanne intensifies, Evie does not realize she is coming closer and closer to unthinkable violence.
Emma Cline s remarkable debut novel is gorgeously written and spellbinding, with razor-sharp precision and startling psychological insight. The Girls is a brilliant work of fiction.
Praise for The Girls
Spellbinding . . . A seductive and arresting coming-of-age story hinged on Charles Manson, told in sentences at times so finely wrought they could almost be worn as jewelry . . . Emma] Cline gorgeously maps the topography of one loneliness-ravaged adolescent heart. She gives us the fictional truth of a girl chasing danger beyond her comprehension, in a Summer of Longing and Loss. The New York Times Book Review
The Girlsreimagines] the American novel . . . Like Mary Gaitskill sVeronicaor Lorrie Moore sWho Will Run the Frog Hospital?, The Girlscaptures a defining friendship in its full humanity with a touch of rock-memoir, tell-it-like-it-really-was attitude. Vogue
Debut novels like this are rare, indeed. . . . The most remarkable quality of this novel is Cline s ability to articulate the anxieties of adolescence in language that s gorgeously poetic without mangling the authenticity of a teenager s consciousness. The adult s melancholy reflection and the girl s swelling impetuousness are flawlessly braided together. . . . For a story that traffics in the lurid notoriety of the Manson murders, The Girlsis an extraordinary act of restraint. With the maturity of a writer twice her age, Cline has written a wise novel that s never showy: a quiet, seething confession of yearning and terror. The Washington Post
Emma Cline has an unparalleled eye for the intricacies of girlhood, turning the stuff of myth into something altogether more intimate. She reminds us that behind so many of our culture s fables exists a girl: unseen, unheard, angry. This book will break your heart and blow your mind. Lena Dunham
Emma Cline s first novel positively hums with fresh, startling, luminous prose. The Girls announces the arrival of a thrilling new voice in American fiction. Jennifer Egan
I don t know which is more amazing, Emma Cline sunderstanding of human beings or her mastery of language. Mark Haddon, New York Times bestselling author of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time"

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780812998603
  • ISBN-10: 081299860X
  • Publisher: Random House
  • Publish Date: June 2016
  • Page Count: 368


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Coming of Age
Books > Fiction > Literary
Books > Fiction > Psychological

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2016-02-15
  • Reviewer: Staff

A middle-aged woman looks back on her experience with a California cult reminiscent of the Manson Family in Cline’s provocative, wonderfully written debut. Fourteen years old in the summer of 1969, Evie Boyd enjoys financial privilege and few parental restrictions. Yet she’s painfully aware that she is fascinated by girls, awkward with boys, and overlooked by her divorced parents, who are preoccupied with their own relationships. When Evie meets “raunchy and careless” Suzanne Parker, she finds in the 19-year-old grifter an assurance she herself lacks. Suzanne lives at a derelict ranch with the followers of charismatic failed musician Russell Hadrick, who extols selflessness and sexual freedom. Soon, Evie—grateful for Russell’s attention, the sense of family the group offers, and Suzanne’s seductive presence—is swept into their chaotic existence. As the mood at the ranch turns dark, her choices become riskier. The novel’s title is apt: Cline is especially perceptive about the emulation and competition, the longing and loss, that connect her novel’s women and their difficult, sometimes destructive passages to adulthood. Its similarities to the Manson story and crimes notwithstanding, The Girls is less about one night of violence than about the harm we can do, to ourselves and others, in our hunger for belonging and acceptance. Agent: Bill Clegg, the Clegg Agency. (June)

 
BAM Customer Reviews