Coupon
Go to Sleep, Little Farm
by Mary Lyn Ray and Christopher Silas Neal


Overview - In the tradition of Margaret Wise Brown, Mary Lyn Ray presents a hushed picture book about the rhythm of the natural world on a small farmas all creatures prepare for sleep. Artist Christopher Silas Neal's classicillustrationsquieteven the most restlesslittle night owls with familiar childlike imagery and the comforts of routine.  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • $16.99
  • 10% Off For Members: Get the Club Price
    $ 15.29

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 18 copies from $7.30
 
 
 
 

More About Go to Sleep, Little Farm by Mary Lyn Ray; Christopher Silas Neal
 
 
 
Overview
In the tradition of Margaret Wise Brown, Mary Lyn Ray presents a hushed picture book about the rhythm of the natural world on a small farmas all creatures prepare for sleep. Artist Christopher Silas Neal's classicillustrationsquieteven the most restlesslittle night owls with familiar childlike imagery and the comforts of routine. All is well, it reminds them. Now is the time for dreams. "

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780544150140
  • ISBN-10: 0544150147
  • Publisher: Harcourt Brace and Company
  • Publish Date: September 2014
  • Page Count: 40
  • Reading Level: Ages 4-7


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Bedtime & Dreams
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Animals - Farm Animals
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Nature & the Natural World - General

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2014-06-30
  • Reviewer: Staff

Ray’s (Stars) lullaby reads like a sequel to Goodnight, Moon, with the same offbeat humor and incantatory language extending to the farm and the forest beyond it. Animals are seen settling down for the night while a young bed goer in the farmhouse mirrors their actions. “Somewhere a beaver weaves a bed in a bog,/ Somewhere a bear finds a bed in a log.” Neal, in a reprise of the remarkable cutaway views of his Over and Under the Snow, shows the bulky bear at rest, while on the following page, the girl reads underneath her blankets, the mound of bedclothes echoing the curves of bear and log. The retro-style mixed-media artwork is created in the blues and roses of twilight, and the action swings between outside and inside. Repeated, pleasingly surreal lines of verse convey the sense of drifting into slumber: “Somewhere a worm sleeps in the dirt./ Somewhere a pocket sleeps in a skirt.” The worm emits delicate a row of z’s; so does the pocket. It’s a keeper. Ages 4–8. Author’s agent: Erin Murphy, Erin Murphy Literary Agency. Illustrator’s agent: Stephen Barr, Writers House. (Sept.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews