Coupon
Goodbye Days
by Jeff Zentner


Overview - "Gorgeous, heartbreaking, and ultimately life-affirming." -- Nicola Yoon, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Everything, Everything .

Perfect for fans of Turtles All the Way Down , Thirteen Reasons Why, and Zentner's own The Serpent King, one of the most highly acclaimed YA novels of 2016, Goodbye Days asks what you would do if you could spend one last day with someone you lost.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • Retail Price: $17.99
  • $12.57
    (Save 30%)
  • 20% off for Members: Get the Club Price
    $ 10.06
Add to Cart
+ Add to Wishlist
In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 18 copies from $6.60
 
 
 
 

More About Goodbye Days by Jeff Zentner
 
 
 
Overview
"Gorgeous, heartbreaking, and ultimately life-affirming." --Nicola Yoon, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Everything, Everything.

Perfect for fans of Turtles All the Way Down, Thirteen Reasons Why, and Zentner's own The Serpent King, one of the most highly acclaimed YA novels of 2016, Goodbye Days asks what you would do if you could spend one last day with someone you lost.

Where are you guys? Text me back. That's the last message Carver Briggs will ever send his three best friends, Mars, Eli, and Blake. He never thought that it would lead to their death.

Now Carver can't stop blaming himself for the accident and even worse, a powerful judge is pressuring the district attorney to open up a criminal investigation.

Luckily, Carver has some unexpected allies: Eli's girlfriend, the only person to stand by him at school; Dr. Mendez, his new therapist; and Blake's grandmother, who asks Carver to spend a "goodbye day" together to share their memories and say a proper farewell.

Soon the other families are asking for their own goodbye day with Carver--but he's unsure of their motives. Will they all be able to make peace with their losses, or will these goodbye days bring Carver one step closer to a complete breakdown or--even worse--prison?

"Jeff Zentner, you perfectly fill the John-Green-sized hole in our heart." --Justine Magazine

"Evocative, heartbreaking, and beautifully written." --Buzzfeed

"Masterful." --TeenVogue.com

"Hold on to your heart: this book will wreck you, fix you, and most definitely change you." --Becky Albertalli, Morris Award-winning author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780553524062
  • ISBN-10: 0553524062
  • Publisher: Crown Books for Young Readers
  • Publish Date: March 2017
  • Page Count: 416
  • Reading Level: Ages 14-UP
  • Dimensions: 8.3 x 5.7 x 1.6 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.1 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Young Adult Fiction > Social Themes - Death & Dying
Books > Young Adult Fiction > Social Themes - Friendship
Books > Young Adult Fiction > Social Themes - Emotions & Feelings

 
BookPage Reviews

Art in the aftermath

It was just another late summer day before the start of senior year at Nashville’s Academy for the Arts. Carver was eager to meet up with his best friends Mars, Blake and Eli to celebrate their end-of-summer traditions. So he sent Mars a text: “Where are you guys? Text me back.” And in an instant, his friends’ lives were over—and Carver’s was destroyed.

After all three boys are killed in a car accident caused, in all likelihood, by Mars’ attempt to text Carver a response, Carver is left with little but a series of increasingly scary panic attacks. Eli’s twin sister despises him, Mars’ powerful father threatens to press charges, and even his new friendship with Eli’s girlfriend is far from uncomplicated. When Blake’s grandma suggests that Carver join her in a “goodbye day” to share their memories of Blake, Carver wonders whether this might be an opportunity for healing or just a route to more pain.

Carver is an aspiring author, so storytelling plays a central role in his grief and recovery. Morris Award-winning author Jeff Zentner, a talented musician and songwriter, suffuses his new novel with all kinds of art forms, from Eli’s music to Mars’ illustrations to Blake’s zany but brave form of comedy. Fans of Jennifer Niven’s All the Bright Places will find much to ponder in Goodbye Days’ sensitive exploration of loss and strong sense of place.

 

This article was originally published in the March 2017 issue of BookPage. Download the entire issue for the Kindle or Nook.

 
BAM Customer Reviews