Coupon
The Gracekeepers
by Kirsty Logan


Overview - For readers of The Night Circus and Station Eleven , a lyrical and absorbing debut set in a world covered by water
As a Gracekeeper, Callanish administers shoreside burials, laying the dead to their final resting place deep in the depths of the ocean.
  Read more...

 
In Stock.

This item is Non-Returnable.
FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 39 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 

More About The Gracekeepers by Kirsty Logan
 
 
 
Overview
For readers of The Night Circus and Station Eleven, a lyrical and absorbing debut set in a world covered by water
As a Gracekeeper, Callanish administers shoreside burials, laying the dead to their final resting place deep in the depths of the ocean. Alone on her island, she has exiled herself to a life of tending watery graves as penance for a long-ago mistake that still haunts her. Meanwhile, North works as a circus performer with the Excalibur, a floating troupe of acrobats, clowns, dancers, and trainers who sail from one archipelago to the next, entertaining in exchange for sustenance.
In a world divided between those inhabiting the mainland ("landlockers") and those who float on the sea ("damplings"), loneliness has become a way of life for North and Callanish, until a sudden storm offshore brings change to both their lives--offering them a new understanding of the world they live in and the consequences of the past, while restoring hope in an unexpected future.
Inspired in part by Scottish myths and fairytales, The Gracekeepers tells a modern story of an irreparably changed world: one that harbors the same isolation and sadness, but also joys and marvels of our own age.
Finalist, Lambda Literary Award"


This item is Non-Returnable.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780553446616
  • ISBN-10: 0553446614
  • Publisher: Crown Publishing Group (NY)
  • Publish Date: May 2015
  • Page Count: 320
  • Dimensions: 8.5 x 5.9 x 1.1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.9 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Literary
Books > Fiction > Magical Realism
Books > Fiction > Fairy Tales, Folk Tales, Legends & Mythology

 
BAM Customer Reviews