Coupon
Grandpa's Great Escape
by David Walliams and Tony Ross


Overview -

David Walliams, hailed as "the heir to Roald Dahl" by The Spectator, burst onto the American scene with the New York Times bestseller Demon Dentist . Now the UK's #1 bestselling children's author is back with this high-flying adventure about a boy and his grandfather, perfect for fans of Jeff Kinney and Rachel Renee Russell.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • Retail Price: $16.99
  • $12.91
    (Save 24%)

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Grandpa's Great Escape by David Walliams; Tony Ross
 
 
 
Overview

David Walliams, hailed as "the heir to Roald Dahl" by The Spectator, burst onto the American scene with the New York Times bestseller Demon Dentist. Now the UK's #1 bestselling children's author is back with this high-flying adventure about a boy and his grandfather, perfect for fans of Jeff Kinney and Rachel Renee Russell.

Grandpa is Jack's favorite person in the world. It doesn't matter that he wears his slippers to the supermarket, serves Spam a la Custard for dinner, and often doesn't remember Jack's name. But then Grandpa starts to believe he's back in World War II, when he was a Spitfire fighter pilot, and he's sent to live in an old folk's home run by the sinister Matron Swine. Now it's up to Jack to help Grandpa plot a daring escape


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780062560896
  • ISBN-10: 0062560891
  • Publisher: HarperCollins
  • Publish Date: February 2017
  • Page Count: 464
  • Reading Level: Ages 8-12


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Humorous Stories
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Family - Multigenerational
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Transportation - Aviation

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2016-11-28
  • Reviewer: Staff

Its 1983, but Jacks grandfather, whose memory is failing, believes that the year is 1940, when he was a decorated RAF pilot serving in WWII. Unlike his worried parents, 12-year-old Jack views the workings of Grandpas mind as nothing short of magical, is spellbound by the mans wartime tales, and eagerly plays Squadron Leader to Grandpas Wing Commander as they outwit enemy aircraft from their armchair cockpits. Knowing that You had to enter Grandpas world to get through to him, Jack uses military lingo to talk his grandfather down from a church spire, remove him from a museums fighter plane, and help him escape the nightmarish Twilight Towers home for the elderly (motto: Caring for your unwanted old folk). Rosss energetic drawings and some playful use of typography bring additional drama and humor to the story. As in Walliamss Demon Dentist, the adult characters are of the bumbling sortsuch as Miss Swine, the diabolical matron of Twilight Towers, and a pair of detectives, Beef and Boneand the storys comedy is nicely counterbalanced by the poignant bond between Jack and Grandpa. Ages 812. (Feb.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews