Coupon
Guard Your Daughters
by Diana Tutton


Overview -

Meet the five eccentric Harvey sisters, Morgan, Pandora, Cressida, Thisbe, and Teresa, in this enthralling, heartwarming, and ultimately moving period novel from 1953, perfect for fans of Dodie Smith

The five Harvey sisters are unconventional, unschooled, and oddly named by their famous detective writer father and fragile mother.  Read more...


 
Paperback
  • $15.95
  • 20% off for Members: Get the Club Price
    $ 12.76

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

PRE-ORDER NOW:
This item will ship on December 8, 2017. If you order this item now, it will not delay the rest of your order.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
 
 
 

More About Guard Your Daughters by Diana Tutton
 
 
 
Overview

Meet the five eccentric Harvey sisters, Morgan, Pandora, Cressida, Thisbe, and Teresa, in this enthralling, heartwarming, and ultimately moving period novel from 1953, perfect for fans of Dodie Smith

The five Harvey sisters are unconventional, unschooled, and oddly named by their famous detective writer father and fragile mother. Still living in the comfort of the rural family home, apart from Pandora who has done the impossible and managed to bag herself a husband, the eccentric sisters are largely left to their own devices, living at a distance from the outside world. So when Gregory turns up on their doorstop unexpectedly one afternoon, his car having broken down, Morgan declares it fate and welcomes the somewhat stunned Gregory into the female dominated household. Plied with tea and toast he is rather flabbergasted but captivated by Thisbe in her slightly inappropriate skiing trousers, Cressida's desperate attempts to hide the stockings and snow boots in the room, and Morgan's blunt honesty. The excitement of Gregory's visit disrupts the sisters stable world, making them question their secluded existence. However, Mrs. Harvey is not at all pleased by the blossoming friendship and new acquaintances Gregory brings into the girls lives. Can the close family unit stay together in the face of change? Tutton has created a world abound in wonderful period detail, populated with lively, likeable characters you will long remember after turning the last page.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781843914921
  • ISBN-10: 1843914921
  • Publisher: Hesperus Press
  • Publish Date: December 2017
  • Page Count: 246


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Family Life

 
BAM Customer Reviews