Coupon
Hissy Fitz
by Patrick Jennings and Michael Allen Austin


Overview - A popular middle-grade writer moves to chapter books with this humorous tale about a cat that makes Grumpy Cat seem cheerful. Perfect for fans of Geronimo Stilton and Dog Diaries.
Hissy Fitz lives with some two-legged creatures who are destined to serve him in every possible way and understand his every whim.
  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • $14.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 14 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Hissy Fitz by Patrick Jennings; Michael Allen Austin
 
 
 
Overview
A popular middle-grade writer moves to chapter books with this humorous tale about a cat that makes Grumpy Cat seem cheerful. Perfect for fans of Geronimo Stilton and Dog Diaries.
Hissy Fitz lives with some two-legged creatures who are destined to serve him in every possible way and understand his every whim. Sadly, these creatures are sorely lacking in their skills. For one thing--they touch him when "they" want to touch him. Don't they know that the two-legged are there for him to touch when he wants to--meaning when he wants food? Petting wakes him up They speak to him--don't they know the two-legged should be seen--so Hissy knows where to order food--and not heard? It's becoming intolerable. What is this irascible cat to do?

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781606845967
  • ISBN-10: 1606845969
  • Publisher: Carolrhoda Books
  • Publish Date: January 2015
  • Page Count: 112
  • Reading Level: Ages 7-10
  • Dimensions: 8.5 x 6.1 x 0.7 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.5 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Animals - Cats
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Humorous Stories
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Animals - Pets

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2014-11-10
  • Reviewer: Staff

Young fans of YouTube’s Grumpy Cat will be smitten with Hissy, the crabby feline hero of Jenning’s (the Guinea Dog series) latest animal tale. Hissy grudgingly admits to loving Georgie Fitz, his eight-year-old primary owner, but he is not a fan of her three-year-old brother, Zeb (“the untamed one”), who likes to chase Hissy. Abe, Zeb’s twin, is kindhearted, as are the children’s parents, but the household’s near-constant noisiness is taking its toll on Hissy’s ability to sleep and nap as much as he’d like. Driven outdoors, Hissy spends time terrorizing the neighborhood (an especially amusing moment sees him stealing a girl’s shoe) and has a nocturnal adventure with local cats, before coming home to the Fitzes and Georgie. Hissy’s drily delivered complaints and observations (“Humans are the noisiest creatures alive. I’m not sure there is any escape”) entertain, while Hissy’s frustration at his dependence on large humans who annoy him will likely resonate with many a reader. Final art not seen by PW. Ages 7–9. Author’s agent: Rosemary Stimola, Stimola Literary Studio. (Jan)

 
BAM Customer Reviews