808s & Heartbreak
by Kanye West

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary


More About 808s & Heartbreak by Kanye West

Track Listing

1 Say You Will
2 Welcome to Heartbreak
3 Heartless
4 Amazing
5 Love Lockdown
6 Paranoid
7 Robocop
8 Street Lights
9 Bad News
10 See You in My Nightmares
11 Coldest Winter
12 [Untitled] - (live)
13 [CD-Rom Track]

Featured Artists: Kid Cudi and Young Jeezy and Mr. Hudson and Lil Wayne

Genre: R&B
  • Genre: Rap, Hip-Hop
  • Release Date: November 2008
  • Label: Roc-A-Fella (USA)
  • Format: CD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Audio Format: Stereo
  • Engineer: Anthony Kilhoffer; Andrew Dawson; Jeff Chestek
Music Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Rolling Stone (p.92) - 3.5 stars out of 5 -- "Thankfully, there are those 808s. Kanye constructed the songs using a classic Roland TR-808 drum machine, and the results are a pleasant shock: stark, spacey tracks, which owe far more to Eighties electro and synth pop than anything on hip-hop radio."

Entertainment Weekly (p.71) - "[H]is flair for wordplay remains gratifyingly intact....He offers this glimpse of the soul beneath the swagger, and we like him better for it." -- Grade: A-

The Wire (p.66) - "[H]is lyrics he tempers with humour, and these enormous tracks, built like New Orleans blues-like dirges, have the soft touches of piano and chords given the full sustain."

Billboard (p.41) - "Sonically, West pushes the envelope by relying on the drum machine from which the album takes its title, as well as the ever-popular vocoder."

Mojo (Publisher) (p.104) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "808S AND HEARTBREAKS' bravery makes it feels honest....It is his most fascinating, and bewildering, record to date."

Blender (Magazine) (p.82) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[A] chunk of emotional permafrost -- a beautiful soundtrack for a long, harsh winter....He's found a way to turn numbness into art."

Clash (Magazine) (p.102) - "Given the reduced palette with which Kanye is working, it's amazing there is such a spectrum of styles and influences covered."

Customer Reviews