Coupon
Hair : A Human History
by Kurt Stenn


Overview -

From a completely bald beauty queen with alopecia to the famed hair-hang circus act, Stenn weaves the history of hair through a variety of captivating examples, with sources varying from renaissance merchants' diaries to interviews with wig makers, modern barbers, and more.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • $26.95

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock

Free Shipping is not available for this item.
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 15 copies from $8.74
 
 
 
 

More About Hair by Kurt Stenn
 
 
 
Overview

From a completely bald beauty queen with alopecia to the famed hair-hang circus act, Stenn weaves the history of hair through a variety of captivating examples, with sources varying from renaissance merchants' diaries to interviews with wig makers, modern barbers, and more. In addition to expelling the biological basis and the evolutionary history of hair, the fiber is put into context: hair in history (as tied to textile mills and merchant associations), hair as a construct for cultural and self-identity, hair in the arts (as the material for artist's brushes and musical instruments), hair as commodity (used for everything from the inner lining of tennis balls to an absorbent to clean up oil spills), and hair as evidence in criminology.

Perfect for fans of Mark Kurlansky, Hair is a compelling read based solidly in historical and scientific research that will delight any reader who wants to know more about the world around them.


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781605989556
  • ISBN-10: 160598955X
  • Publisher: Pegasus Books
  • Publish Date: February 2016
  • Page Count: 256
  • Dimensions: 9.1 x 6.1 x 1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.9 pounds


Related Categories

Books > History > World - General
Books > History > Social History

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2015-12-21
  • Reviewer: Staff

Stenn, former director of skin biology at Johnson & Johnson, explores the intricacies of hair from biological, anthropological, and cultural perspectives, developing a well-rounded overview of a seemingly obtuse subject. On hair science, he delves into evolutionary theory, the hair growth cycle, and the chemical processes of conditioners, relaxers, and dyes. The director of a barber trade school outlines the rigorous course of study required for the occupation, and a famed wig maker explains his complex work process. Somewhat on the outer reaches are individuals paying thousands of dollars for strands of famous hair at auction, hair as a visual art medium, and hair shirts for religious atonement. Finally, Stenn makes some projections about the future of hair, including robot barbers and the status of hair-follicle forming chemicals to remedy baldness. While there are likely more complete and academic takes on this subject, this is an excellent laypersons introduction to the vast and compelling story of hair. Agent: Regina Ryan, Regina Ryan Publishing Enterprises. (Feb.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews