Coupon
Hector and the Search for Happiness
by Francois Lelord and Lorenza Garcia


Overview - Now a major motion picture starring Simon Pegg, Rosamund Pike, Toni Collette, and Christopher Plummer
The international bestseller with more than two million copies sold

Once upon a time there was a young psychiatrist called Hector who was not very satisfied with himself.
  Read more...

 
Paperback
  • $14.00
  • Members Save 10% Club Price
    $ 12.60

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 46 copies from $4.28
 
 
 
 

More About Hector and the Search for Happiness by Francois Lelord; Lorenza Garcia
 
 
 
Overview
Now a major motion picture starring Simon Pegg, Rosamund Pike, Toni Collette, and Christopher Plummer
The international bestseller with more than two million copies sold

Once upon a time there was a young psychiatrist called Hector who was not very satisfied with himself. . . . And so he decided to take a trip around the world, and everywhere he went he would try to understand what made people happy or unhappy.
Hector travels from Paris to China to Africa to the United States, and along the way he keeps a list of observations about the people he meets. Combining the winsome appeal ofThe Little Princewith the inspiring philosophy ofThe Alchemist, Hector s journey around the world and into the human soul is entertaining, empowering, and smile-inducing as winning in its optimism as it is wise in its simplicity."

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780143118398
  • ISBN-10: 0143118390
  • Publisher: Penguin Books
  • Publish Date: August 2010
  • Page Count: 165
  • Reading Level: Ages 18-UP


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Literary

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2010-07-05
  • Reviewer: Staff

This trite debut follows a psychiatrist named Hector as he attempts to understand "what made people happy." At a crossroads professionally and personally, Hector resolves to take a trip, first landing in China, where he reconnects with an old friend and encounters Ying Li, with whom he spends a night. He also meets an old monk who offers a bit of happiness-related wisdom. Having suffered disappointment in his relations with Ying Li, Hector next heads to Africa, where he makes the acquaintance of a drug lord with a depressed wife, is kidnapped, and learns that "it's harder to be happy in a country run by bad people." Next up is the "big country where there were more psychiatrists than anywhere else in the world" and a meeting with a professor of "Happiness Studies." Lelord, a psychiatrist, writes in the simple prose you'd find in a children's book, and this stylistic choice quickly becomes irredeemably grating. Though the book is an international bestseller, it is far less a novel than a maudlin self-help guide that substitutes pat aphorisms for development. (Sept.)

 
BookPage Reviews

Happiness hides in plain sight

In François Lelord’s utterly charming Hector and the Search for Happiness, a psychiatrist wants to know what makes people happy. He visits friends and keeps a list of observations—comparing your toys with a friend’s toys can make you unhappy, sun and sand can make anyone happy, happiness is caring for the people you love. Wealth and status seem to hurt some of the psychiatrist’s friends; for example, a businessman works 80 hours a week and becomes dependent on alcohol. Other characters have a gift for happiness: The psychiatrist encounters laughing, impoverished people at a picnic and wonders how they can overlook their own suffering and experience pleasure. Most notably, a very ill friend of the psychiatrist is able to forget that she is dying, enjoy her final days and inspire the people around her.

Hector and the Search for Happiness turns psychological research into a fast-paced, enchanting story. Lelord himself is a psychiatrist, and his interest in the human mind is infectious. He writes as if he were telling a bedtime story—calmly, authoritatively. His story makes you ask: Am I happy? How could I change to make myself happier?

Already an international hit, Hector and the Search for Happiness will be turned into a feature film in 2011. Fans of Eat, Pray, Love and The Elegance of the Hedgehog won’t want to miss this gem of a book.

 

 
BAM Customer Reviews