Coupon
Hot Lead, Cold Iron : A Mick Oberon Job Book 1
by Ari Marmell


Overview - Hot Lead, Cold Iron is the first novel in a brand-new fantasy detective series that will appeal to fans of Rivers of London and The Dresden Files

Chicago, 1932. Mick Oberon may look like just another private detective, but beneath the fedora and the overcoat, he's got pointy ears and he's packing a wand.  Read more...


 
Paperback
  • $14.95

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

Free Shipping is not available for this item.
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 39 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Hot Lead, Cold Iron by Ari Marmell
 
 
 
Overview
Hot Lead, Cold Iron is the first novel in a brand-new fantasy detective series that will appeal to fans of Rivers of London and The Dresden Files

Chicago, 1932. Mick Oberon may look like just another private detective, but beneath the fedora and the overcoat, he's got pointy ears and he's packing a wand.
Oberon's used to solving supernatural crimes, but the latest one's extra weird. A mobster's daughter was kidnapped sixteen years ago, replaced with a changeling, and Mick's been hired to find the real child. The trail's gone cold, but what there is leads Sideways, to the world of the Fae, where the Seelie Court rules. And Mick's not really welcome in the Seelie Court any more. He'll have to wade through Fae politics and mob power struggles to find the kidnapper - and of course it's the last person he expected.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781781168226
  • ISBN-10: 1781168229
  • Publisher: Titan Books (UK)
  • Publish Date: May 2014
  • Page Count: 400
  • Dimensions: 7.9 x 5.1 x 1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.65 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Crime
Books > Fiction > Mystery & Detective - Hard-Boiled
Books > Fiction > Thrillers - Crime

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2014-03-10
  • Reviewer: Staff

In this gripping fantastical investigation, Marmell (The Goblin Corps) creates an engaging world and an unlikely hero. Mick Oberon is a gumshoe in 1930s Chicago, a world of Prohibition-fueled lawlessness, corrupt politicians, and rapidly advancing technology. The wife of a mafia boss hires him to find her daughter, who has been missing—replaced by a changeling—for 16 years. The cold case soon gets hot, and Oberon unravels a crime that leads him back to the courts of the Fae. This harrowing adventure moves effortlessly between the mortal world and the magical Chicago Otherworld. The potent mix of gangsters, magic, Fae politics, and a strega on the warpath makes for a ride that never touches the brakes. Marmell expertly maximizes the thrills, leaving the reader with a lingering desire for a magic wand and a glass of warm milk. (May)

 
BAM Customer Reviews