Coupon
Humorists : From Hogarth to Noel Coward
by Paul Johnson


Overview - In the tradition of Johnson's "Intellectuals, Creators," and "Heroes" comes a new book of biographical portraits of the greatest humorists and wits in modern history.   Read more...

 
Bargain - Hardcover
  • Retail Price: $25.99
  • $2.00
    (Save 92%)

Sorry: This item is not currently available.

FREE Shipping for Club Members

What is a Bargain?
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
 
 

Customers Also Bought

Products
More About Humorists by Paul Johnson
 
 
 
Overview

In the tradition of Johnson's "Intellectuals, Creators," and "Heroes" comes a new book of biographical portraits of the greatest humorists and wits in modern history.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780061825910
  • ISBN-10: 0061825913
  • Publisher: Harper
  • Publish Date: November 2010
  • Page Count: 228

Related Categories

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2010-09-27
  • Reviewer: Staff

British historian Johnson (Churchill) misses the mark with this odd collection of biographical snapshots of "humorists"--the term is debatable--throughout Western history. Noting that laughter was first recorded in words in chapter 18 of the book of Genesis, Johnson divides humorists into two categories: those who create chaos for laughs and those who analyze the inherent oddness of individual personalities to find comedy. But instead of using this basic rubric--and all points of intersection--to explore the evolution of humor from the 18th century to our current one, Johnson's portraits of these so-called humorous men (Nancy Mitford is the only woman, and she shares a chapter with Noël Coward) lose any sense of a central thesis. Particularly in the cases of painters Hogarth, Thomas Rowlandson, and Toulouse-Lautrec, Johnson's intense focus on minute details of works not reproduced in the text make his analysis difficult to grasp for readers unfamiliar with the artists' work. Chapters devoted to Charlie Chaplin, Laurel and Hardy, the Marx Brothers, and James Thurber are among the best, and in them Johnson is able to stifle his urge to overanalyze the biographical elements and let the subjects--and their amazing comedic work--speak for themselves. (Dec.)

 
Customer Reviews