Coupon
Illuminae
by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff


Overview - For fans of Marie Lu and James Dashner comes the first book in an epic new series.
"Brace yourself. You're about to be immersed in a mindscape that you'll never want to leave."
--Marie Lu, "New York Times" bestselling author of the Legend trilogy
This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing she'd have to do.
  Read more...

 
Bargain - Hardcover
  • Retail Price: $18.99
  • $5.97
    (Save 69%)

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist


In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members

What is a Bargain?
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
 
 
 

Customers Also Bought

More About Illuminae by Amie Kaufman; Jay Kristoff
 
 
 
Overview

For fans of Marie Lu and James Dashner comes the first book in an epic new series.
"Brace yourself. You're about to be immersed in a mindscape that you'll never want to leave."
--Marie Lu, "New York Times" bestselling author of the Legend trilogy
This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing she'd have to do.
This afternoon, her planet was invaded.
The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at war over a planet that's little more than an ice-covered speck at the edge of the universe. Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and Ezra--who are barely even talking to each other--are forced to fight their way onto one of the evacuating fleet, with an enemy warship in hot pursuit.
But their problems are just getting started. A deadly plague has broken out and is mutating, with terrifying results; the fleet's AI, which should be protecting them, may actually be their enemy; and nobody in charge will say what's really going on. As Kady hacks into a tangled web of data to find the truth, it's clear only one person can help her bring it all to light: the ex-boyfriend she "swore" she'd never speak to again.
Told through a fascinating dossier of hacked documents--including emails, schematics, military files, IMs, medical reports, interviews, and more--"Illuminae" is the first book in a heart-stopping, high-octane trilogy about lives interrupted, the price of truth, and the courage of everyday heroes.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780553499117
  • ISBN-10: 0553499114
  • Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
  • Publish Date: October 2015
  • Page Count: 608
  • Reading Level: Ages 14-UP

Related Categories


Series: Illuminae Files
 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2015-07-20
  • Reviewer: Staff

Star-crossed lovers fight for survival in this visually stunning adventure, the first in a trilogy and told through myriad documents and archived information, including instant messages, email, interview transcripts, memos, and security footage. Following a devastating attack on their home planet, Kady Grant and Ezra Mason, having just broken up, end up on different ships, part of a refugee fleet fleeing a cosmic dreadnought. Additionally, a virus is turning the survivors into bloodthirsty monsters, while one ship’s murderous AI takes extreme measures to protect the fleet. Though separated, Kady and Ezra rekindle their relationship while everything collapses around them. What starts off as a spacefaring action-romance evolves into a nerve-wracking horror story as the true scope of the situation becomes clear. Kaufman (the Starbound trilogy) and Kristoff (the Lotus War series) offer a stylistically mesmerizing tale, where story and art are interchangeable, and words act as pictures. The more experimental sections may require extra effort on readers’ parts, but the result is worth it. Ages 14–up. Agent: (for Kaufman) John Adams and Tracey Adams, Adams Literary; (for Kristoff) Matt Bialer and Lindsay Ribar, Sanford J. Greenburger Associates. (Oct.)

 
Customer Reviews