Coupon
The Illusionist's Apprentice
by Kristy Cambron


Overview - Not all illusions happen on the stage.

Wren Lockhart, apprentice to master illusionist Harry Houdini, uses life on a vaudeville stage to

escape the pain of her past. She continues her career of illusion after her mentor's death, intent on burying her true identity.  Read more...


 
Paperback
  • $15.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 28 copies from $2.99
 
 
 
 

More About The Illusionist's Apprentice by Kristy Cambron
 
 
 
Overview
Not all illusions happen on the stage.

Wren Lockhart, apprentice to master illusionist Harry Houdini, uses life on a vaudeville stage to

escape the pain of her past. She continues her career of illusion after her mentor's death, intent on burying her true identity.

But when a rival performer's act goes tragically wrong, the newly formed FBI calls on Wren to speak the truth--and reveal her real name to the world. She transfers her skills for misdirection from the stage to the back halls of vaudeville, as she finds herself the unlikely partner in the FBI's investigation. All the while Houdini's words echo in her mind: Whatever occurs, the crowd must believe it's what you meant to happen. She knows that if anyone digs too deep, secrets long kept hidden may find their way to the surface--and shatter her carefully controlled world.

Set during one of the richest, most vibrant eras in American history, this Jazz Age novel of illusion, suspense, and forgotten pasts is perfect for fans of The Magician's Lie, challenging all to find the underpinnings of faith on their own life's stage.

"Prepare to be amazed by The Illusionist's Apprentice." --Greer Macallister, bestselling author of The Magician's Lie and Girl in Disguise


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780718041502
  • ISBN-10: 071804150X
  • Publisher: Thomas Nelson
  • Publish Date: March 2017
  • Page Count: 368
  • Dimensions: 8.3 x 5.5 x 0.9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.7 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Christian - Historical
Books > Fiction > Christian - Romance

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2017-01-09
  • Reviewer: Staff

Cambron (Butterfly and the Violin) brilliantly weaves a tale of intrigue and history, using Houdinis disdain for debates about magic vs. illusion as her premise. Stapleton, a vaudeville performer, debunked by Houdini as a fraud several years earlier, decides to restore his reputation by publicly bringing a man back to life 20 years after the mans death. The performance, which takes place in the months after Houdinis own death, is attended by Jenny Wren Lockhart, Houdinis trusted apprentice and protégé. Stapleton summons the man to rise from the coffin, but shortly after he rises, before he is able to speak, the man promptly keels over deadagain. In the background watching this incident stand FBI agent Elliott Matthews and the wealthy widow Amber Dover, a colorful character who married into society but comes from a vaudeville background. Suspicious of both Wren and Amber, Elliotts instincts lead him to investigate their potential involvement in the bizarre resurrection and potential murder. Wren unwittingly becomes entwined with FBI agent Elliot, initially to solve the case of what exactly happened to the dead man but eventually to pursue her budding affection for Elliot. Cambrons lithe prose pulls together past and present and her attention to historical detail grounds the narrative to the last breathtaking moments. (Mar.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews