Coupon
Illusions of Fate
by Kiersten White


Overview -

Dive into a world of enchantment and romance in this lush fantasy, which Stephanie Perkins, international bestselling author ofAnna and the French Kiss, called an absolute delight a magical, sparkling, dangerous world with witty repartee and a romance that will light your heart on fire.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • $17.99
  • Members Save 10% Club Price
    $ 16.19

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 23 copies from $7.01
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Illusions of Fate by Kiersten White
 
 
 
Overview

Dive into a world of enchantment and romance in this lush fantasy, which Stephanie Perkins, international bestselling author ofAnna and the French Kiss, called an absolute delight a magical, sparkling, dangerous world with witty repartee and a romance that will light your heart on fire. Fans of Libba Bray and Cassandra Clare will fall in love with this captivating stand-alone novel from Kiersten White, New York Timesbestselling author of the Paranormalcy trilogy.

Jessamin has been an outcast since she moved from her island home of Melei to the dreary country of Albion. Everything changes when she meets the gorgeous, enigmatic Finn, who introduces her to the secret world of Albion's nobility. It s a world that has everything Jessamin doesn't power, money, status . . . and magic. But Finn has secrets of his own, and the vicious Lord Downpike will do anything to possess them. Unless Jessamin, armed only with her wits, can stop him."

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780062135896
  • ISBN-10: 0062135899
  • Publisher: Harper Teen
  • Publish Date: September 2014
  • Page Count: 278
  • Reading Level: Ages 13-UP


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Fantasy & Magic
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Love & Romance

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2014-06-30
  • Reviewer: Staff

White (A Chaos of Stars) claims the influence of Jane Austen on her latest fantasy, but the hero, Finn, is less reminiscent of Mr. Darcy than of Dorothy Sayers’s Lord Peter Wimsey—all nervy blond elegance. Like Wimsey, Finn has a nameless role to play in keeping the empire out of war (in this case, the magic-wielding nation of Albion). Finn falls in love at first sight, most inappropriately, with narrator Jessamin, an illegitimate “island rat” whose father is a professor in Albion and whose mother is a marriage-obsessed native of Melei, a colony. Jessamin has blackmailed her father to gain entrance to an exclusive school, but she works in a hotel to make ends meet, a situation that allows for riffs on A Little Princess as Finn—and Finn’s enemies—inflict their attention and wealth on her. White’s critique of colonialism can sit awkwardly on the adventure/romance plot—Jessamin makes long speeches about the oppression she experiences, but there are no special insights offered. Ideology aside, the characters make a believable and intriguing connection across their cultural divide. Ages 13–up. Agent: Michelle Wolfson, Wolfson Literary. (Sept.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews