Coupon
Intimacy Idiot
by Isaac Oliver


Overview - An NPR Best Book of 2015
This big-hearted, laugh-until-you-can t-breathe collection of personal essays, stories, and riffs on finding love and intimacy in New York City announces the arrival of a a monstrous new talent ("New York" magazine) in the vein of David Sedaris, Augusten Burroughs, and Tina Fey.
  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • $24.00
  • Members Save 10% Club Price
    $ 21.60

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 17 copies from $14.90
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
  • [-] Other Available Formats
    Our Price
    New & Used Marketplace
     
     
    Intimacy Idiot (Paperback)
    Published: 2016-06-14
    Publisher: Scribner Book Company
    $16.00
     
     
 
 

More About Intimacy Idiot by Isaac Oliver
 
 
 
Overview
An NPR Best Book of 2015
This big-hearted, laugh-until-you-can t-breathe collection of personal essays, stories, and riffs on finding love and intimacy in New York City announces the arrival of a a monstrous new talent ("New York" magazine) in the vein of David Sedaris, Augusten Burroughs, and Tina Fey.
In this uproariously funny debut collection, award-winning writer and performer Isaac Oliver serves up a comedic cornucopia of sketches, vignettes, lists, and diaries from his life as a young, fanciful, and "extremely" single gay man in New York City. Whether he s hooking up with a man who dresses as a dolphin, suffering on airplanes and buses next to people with Food From Home, or hovering around an impenetrable circle of attractive people at a cocktail party, Oliver captures the messy, moving, and absurd moments of urban life as we live it today.
Since moving to New York a decade ago, Oliver has pined for countless strangers on the subway, slept with half the people in his Washington Heights neighborhood, and observed the best and worst of humanity from behind the glass of a Times Square theater box office. He also rode the subway during Breastfeeding Awareness Week and lived to tell the tale. Culled from years of heartbreak, hook-ups, and more awkwardness than a virgin at prom and a whore in church (and he should know because he s been both), "Intimacy Idiot" chronicles Oliver s encounters with love, infatuation, resilience, and self-acceptance that echo our universal desire for intimacy of all kinds."

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781476746661
  • ISBN-10: 1476746664
  • Publisher: Scribner Book Company
  • Publish Date: June 2015
  • Page Count: 288


Related Categories

Books > Humor > Form - Essays
Books > Humor > Topic - Men, Women & Relationships
Books > Social Science > LGBT Studies - Gay Studies

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2015-05-18
  • Reviewer: Staff

Oliver (Showgasm) provides a mediocre entry in the genre of self-deprecating New York Gay men looking for love and finding humor instead, though it certainly has its bright spots. His chatty style and candor about sex is entertaining, as when he dedicates an entire paragraph to actor Ryan Phillippe, who "justified and fortified gayness." His comic humiliations, such as his experiences with gagging on a dust-covered sexual device, dating a furry, and getting spanked by a scruffy Italian guy, illustrate what Oliver will do for possible love. He also includes anecdotes about essays about bizarre subway rides and outrageous episodes from his day job at a theater box office. Too much of the book contains uninspired doodles such as a series of odes ("love poems") for attractive strangers he encounters in New York and "recipes" for loneliness, leaving the reader longing for more substance. Oliver certainly has comedic talent, but this haphazard collection quickly wears thin. (June)

 
BAM Customer Reviews