Coupon
The Iran Wars : Spy Games, Bank Battles, and the Secret Deals That Reshaped the Middle East
by Jay Solomon


Overview - From the"Wall Street Journal"reporter who s been breaking news on the historic and potentially disastrous Iran nuclear deal comes a deeply reported exploration of the country s decades-long power struggle with the United States for readers of Steve Coll s"Ghost Wars"and Lawrence Wright s"The Looming Tower"
For more than a decade, the United States has been engaged in a war with Iran as momentous as any other in the Middle East a war all the more significant as it has largely been hidden from public view.
  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • $28.00
  • 20% off for Members: Get the Club Price
    $ 22.40

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 

More About The Iran Wars by Jay Solomon
 
 
 
Overview
From the"Wall Street Journal"reporter who s been breaking news on the historic and potentially disastrous Iran nuclear deal comes a deeply reported exploration of the country s decades-long power struggle with the United States for readers of Steve Coll s"Ghost Wars"and Lawrence Wright s"The Looming Tower"
For more than a decade, the United States has been engaged in a war with Iran as momentous as any other in the Middle East a war all the more significant as it has largely been hidden from public view. Through a combination of economic sanctions, global diplomacy, and intelligence work, successive U.S. administrations have struggled to contain Iran s aspirations to become a nuclear power and dominate the region what many view as the most serious threat to peace in the Middle East. Meanwhile, Iran has used regional instability to its advantage to undermine America s interests. "The Iran Wars" is an absorbing account of a battle waged on many levels military, financial, and covert.
Jay Solomon s book is the product of extensive in-depth reporting and interviews with all the key players in the conflict from high-ranking Iranian officials to Secretary of State John Kerry and his negotiating team. With a reporter s masterly investigative eye and the narrative dexterity of a great historian, Solomon shows how Iran s nuclear development went unnoticed for years by the international community only to become its top security concern. He catalogs the blunders of both the Bush and Obama administrations as they grappled with how to engage Iran, producing a series of both carrots and sticks. And he takes us inside the hotel suites where the 2015 nuclear agreement was negotiated, offering a frank assessment of the uncertain future of the U.S.-Iran relationship.
This is a book rife with revelations, from the secret communications between the Obama administration and the Iranian government to dispatches from the front lines of the new field of financial warfare. For readers of Steve Coll s "Ghost Wars" and Lawrence Wright s "The Looming Tower, The Iran Wars "exposes the hidden history of a conflict most Americans don t even realize is being fought, but whose outcome could have far-reaching geopolitical implications.
Praise for "The Iran Wars"
The use of the word wars, plural, in the title of this illuminating book tells the story: U.S.-Iranian relations have been troubled for many years. This deeply researched account of negotiations and their implications makes an important contribution to understanding the short- and long-term consequences of how we manage this difficult relationship. George P. Shultz, former secretary of state
An illuminating, deeply reported account from one of the best journalists writing about the Middle East today. Jay Solomon s "The" "Iran Wars" offers a front-row view of the spy games, assassinations, political intrigue and high-stakes diplomacy that have defined relations with one of America s most cunning and dangerous foes. Joby Warrick, Pulitzer Prize winning author of "Black Flags: The Rise of ISIS
" A thorough yet concise survey of Iran s buildup of nuclear technology since the 1980s, its troubling exporting of Shiite insurgency in countries around it, and the changing American reaction. "Wall Street Journal" chief foreign affairs correspondent Jay] Solomon offers an evenhanded look at the backdoor schemes involving the building of Iran s nuclear weapons and the world players involved in and against its machinations. "Kirkus Reviews" (Starred Review)"

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780812993646
  • ISBN-10: 0812993640
  • Publisher: Random House
  • Publish Date: August 2016
  • Page Count: 352


Related Categories

Books > Political Science > International Relations - General
Books > Political Science > Security (National & International)
Books > Political Science > World - Middle Eastern

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2016-08-22
  • Reviewer: Staff

Solomon, the Wall Street Journal’s chief foreign affairs correspondent, offers a timely, challenging account of the sanctions and secret negotiations that led to the July 2015 nuclear accord between Iran and the UN. Candid interviews with major figures such as U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry and Syrian leader Bashir al-Assad add to Solomon’s rich analysis. For over a decade, the Bush and Obama administrations struggled with little success to contain Iran’s ambitions in the Middle East and access to nuclear power. To achieve its goals, the U.S. cut deals with Russia and China and damaged relations with allies Israel and Saudi Arabia. Solomon remains skeptical that détente with Iran is the right solution. What he calls Obama’s defining achievement in foreign policy is also, by his lights, “among the riskiest bets made by a U.S. president in modern history.” As terms of the agreement lapse during the coming decade, he believes that the likelihood of a catastrophic Middle East arms race will grow. Iranian intransigence remains strong, and the country is using regional instability, notably in Syria, to undermine America’s interests. Solomon’s dense, informed behind-the-scenes report will gratify readers with deep interest in Mideast affairs. Casual readers, however, will find the story line too daunting to benefit from Solomon’s insights. (Oct.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews