Coupon
It's Only Stanley
by Jon Agee


Overview - Fans of Jon Klassen and Oliver Jeffers will love this mischievously funny read-aloud from award-winning author/illustrator Jon Agee

Mysterious noises keep waking up the Wimbledon family. "That's very odd," says Mr. Wimbledon each time, but when he returns from checking on the sounds, he's always reassuring: "It's only Stanley; he's fixing the oil tank." "It's only Stanley; he's clearing the bathtub drain."

But what Stanley the dog is actually doing while his oblivious family goes back to bed is deliciously absurd: he's turning the house into a rocket ship to zoom himself and his family to another planet for an alien encounter.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • $17.99
  • 20% off for Members: Get the Club Price
    $ 14.39

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 22 copies from $4.02
 
 
 
 

More About It's Only Stanley by Jon Agee
 
 
 
Overview
Fans of Jon Klassen and Oliver Jeffers will love this mischievously funny read-aloud from award-winning author/illustrator Jon Agee

Mysterious noises keep waking up the Wimbledon family. "That's very odd," says Mr. Wimbledon each time, but when he returns from checking on the sounds, he's always reassuring: "It's only Stanley; he's fixing the oil tank." "It's only Stanley; he's clearing the bathtub drain."

But what Stanley the dog is actually doing while his oblivious family goes back to bed is deliciously absurd: he's turning the house into a rocket ship to zoom himself and his family to another planet for an alien encounter. This is a perfect rhyming read-aloud for fans of irreverent tales like Click Clack Moo and I Want My Hat Back.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780803739079
  • ISBN-10: 0803739079
  • Publisher: Dial Books
  • Publish Date: March 2015
  • Page Count: 32
  • Reading Level: Ages 5-8
  • Dimensions: 11 x 8.7 x 0.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Humorous Stories
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Family - General
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Animals - Dogs

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2015-01-12
  • Reviewer: Staff

Stanley the beagle is a diehard fixer-upper, and for some reason he likes doing noisy chores in the middle of the night. One by one, he wakes up every member of the alliteratively named Wimbledon family, from parents Wilma and Walter to their four children. Agee (Terrific) establishes a rhythmic word-and-picture formula in which Walter goes downstairs on six separate occasions, checks on Stanley (always in a wordless spread), and reports back to his restless family: “The Wimble- dons were sleeping./ It was later than before./ When Wendy heard a clanking sound,/ Below her bedroom floor./ ‘That’s very odd,’ said Walter./ Then they heard another clank!/ ‘It’s only Stanley,’ Walter said./ ‘He fixed the oil tank.’ ” Visual hints suggest that the industrious dog has more on his mind than home improvement, and rereadings shed light on Stanley’s master plan to transform the Wimbledons’ steeply pitched Victorian house into a rocket. As in Milo’s Hat Trick, Agee appeals to connoisseurs of the absurd, and he shapes ridiculous developments into a tightly composed and satisfying picture book. Ages 5–8. Agent: Holly McGhee, Pippin Properties. (Mar.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews