Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit
by Jason Isbell/Jason Isbell And The 400 Unit

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary


More About Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit by Jason Isbell/Jason Isbell And The 400 Unit

Track Listing

1 Seven-Mile Island
2 Sunstroke
3 Good
4 Cigarettes and Wine
5 However Long
6 Coda
7 Blue, The
8 No Choice in the Matter
9 Soldiers Get Strange
10 Streetlights
11 Last Song I Will Write, The

Genre: Rock & Pop
  • Genre: Popular Music
  • Release Date: February 2009
  • Label: Lightning Rod Records
  • Format: CD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Audio Format: Stereo
  • Producer: Jason Isbell; Matt Pence; Jason Isbell & The 400 Unit; Matt Pence
  • Engineer: Jimmy Nutt; Dixon Keel; Jimmy Nutt; Ben Tanner
Music Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Rolling Stone (p.70) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "[T]he brooding alt-country weepers are not to be missed here, especially the lovely 'Cigarettes and Wine.'"

Spin (p.80) - "[M]ultiple tales of warm, lonely barrooms and the warm, lonely relationships they breed uncover new truths..."

Billboard (p.33) - "The Americana is first-class, be it on crunchy, boozy romps with stinging solos or the slow-burning acoustic fare..."

Paste (magazine) (p.66) - "For his new album, recorded in Muscle Shoals, Isbell has assembled a tight, nuanced group to breathe life into his songwriting -- he still has his sharp eye for narrative details..."

Uncut (magazine) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "'Soldiers Get Strange' is a brilliantly effective sketch of the derangement of a returning serviceman....The song, much like the rest of this terrific album, is an acknowledgment that while love is assuredly a battlefield, a battlefield in its way, can almost offer love."

Customer Reviews