John Barleycorn Must Die
by Traffic

In Stock

FREE Shipping for Club Members
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary


More About John Barleycorn Must Die by Traffic

Track Listing

1 Glad
2 Freedom Rider
3 Empty Pages
4 I Just Want You to Know - (previously unreleased)
5 Stranger to Himself
6 John Barleycorn
7 Every Mothers Son
8 Sittin' Here Thinkin' of My Love - (previously unreleased)

Genre: Rock & Pop
  • Genre: Popular Music
  • Release Date: February 2001
  • Label: Island (Label)
  • Format: CD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Audio Format: Stereo
  • Producer: Steve Winwood; Guy Stevens; Chris Blackwell; Steve Winwood; Guy Stevens
  • Engineer: Brian Humphries; Andy Johns; Brian Humphries; Andy Johns
Music Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Rolling Stone (9/3/70, p.42) - "...The best cut on the album is probably the title tune....Wood's flute is again exceptional, delicate and ornate, and Steve sings the song just right, with an admirable sense of restraint and simplicity..."

Q (2/00, p.104) - 3 stars out of 5 - "...a stew of jazz, folk and prog....seeing the band lapsing into a little too much jam-based indulgence..."

Uncut (p.94) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "It's a trio record with an economical sound canvas....A much more sophisticated affair, pointing more towards jazz and improvisation than folkish simplicity."

Mojo (Publisher) (1/00, p.106) - "...shows that Traffic were capable of thoughtful, inventive and occasionally very beautiful music."

Record Collector (magazine) (p.98) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[With] tracks such as 'Glad' and 'Freedom Rider' featuring extended jamming sections within robust song structures, while 'Every Mother's Son captures Winwood at his most soulful."

Customer Reviews