Coupon
Joplin, Wishing
by Diane Stanley


Overview -

A heartfelt and magical middle grade novel in the tradition of Tuck Everlasting and Bridge to Terabithia , about family, wishes, and the power of true friends to work magic.

While cleaning out her reclusive grandfather's house, Joplin discovers pieces of a broken platter in a cookie tin.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • $16.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 20 copies from $8.84
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 

More About Joplin, Wishing by Diane Stanley
 
 
 
Overview

A heartfelt and magical middle grade novel in the tradition of Tuck Everlasting and Bridge to Terabithia, about family, wishes, and the power of true friends to work magic.

While cleaning out her reclusive grandfather's house, Joplin discovers pieces of a broken platter in a cookie tin. After having the platter repaired, Joplin wishes that she could both find a friend at school, and befriend the girl pictured in the platter. The next day, Joplin befriends a boy named Barrett, and also notices a girl outside her apartment. A girl who looks remarkably like the girl in the platter...

The girl introduces herself as Sofie, and she has a terrible secret. Cursed to grant wishes for the owner of the platter for all of time, she has been trapped for centuries. Joplin and Barrett vow to help her, but freeing Sofie is more complicated than they could have imagined, and the three friends end up against a sinister foe who could put them all in terrible danger.


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780062423702
  • ISBN-10: 0062423703
  • Publisher: HarperCollins
  • Publish Date: June 2017
  • Page Count: 272
  • Reading Level: Ages 8-12
  • Dimensions: 8.3 x 5.8 x 1.1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.6 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Family - General
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Girls & Women
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Fantasy & Magic

 
BookPage Reviews

A magical friendship

Twelve-year-old Joplin lives with her divorced mom and her mom’s friend, Jen, in a basement apartment in New York. She’s bullied at school, and even worse, her best friend has dumped her. The death of Joplin’s famous grandfather—and the spreading of some unsavory publicity about him—gives her peers a golden opportunity to tease her, leaving her devastated and lonely.

In her grandfather’s room, Joplin discovers a metal tin crammed with pieces of an old ceramic platter. The plate, depicting a young girl standing by a pond and a windmill, is repaired and hung in her room. Joplin wishes the girl would be her friend, and the next day, the girl vanishes from the platter and waits for Joplin in the garden, where she introduces herself as Sophie. Around the same time, Joplin befriends Barrett, a boy from school. Suddenly Joplin has two friends, and together they try to return Sophie to being a flesh-and-blood girl in Holland. Their quest takes a sinister turn when they discover they are being stalked by a man who knows Sophie’s secret.

Joplin’s struggle to find her place after her grandfather’s death, both at home and at school, will ring true to readers. The magical platter offers an engaging vehicle to help Joplin sort fact from fantasy, reality from longing, and to learn the true meaning of friendship.

This article was originally published in the June 2017 issue of BookPage. Download the entire issue for the Kindle or Nook.

 
BAM Customer Reviews