Coupon
Journey's End
by Rachel Hawkins


Overview - New York Times bestselling author Rachel Hawkins brings us a riveting middle grade fantasy-adventure, perfect for fans of Lisa Graff.
The town of Journey's End may not literally be at the end of the world, but it sure feels like it to Nolie Stanhope.
  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • $16.99
  • 20% off for Members: Get the Club Price
    $ 13.59

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 40 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Journey's End by Rachel Hawkins
 
 
 
Overview
New York Timesbestselling author Rachel Hawkins brings us a riveting middle grade fantasy-adventure, perfect for fans of Lisa Graff.
The town of Journey's End may notliterallybe at the end of the world, but it sure feels like it to Nolie Stanhope. Spending the summer with her scientist father in the tiny Scottish village isn't exactly Nolie's idea of a good time, but she soon finds a friend: native Journey's Ender Bel McKissick.
While Nolie's father came to Journey's End to study the Boundary--a mysterious fog bank offshore--Bel's family can t afford to consider it a threat. The McKissick s livelihood depends on the tourists drawn by legends of a curse. Still, whether you believe in magic or science, going into the Boundary means you'll never come back.
Unless you do. Albert Etheridge, a boy who disappeared into the Boundary in 1914, suddenly returns--without having aged a day and with no memory of the past hundred years. Then the Boundary starts creeping closer to the town, threatening to consume everyone within.
While Nolie's father wants to have the village evacuated, Bel's parents lead the charge to stay in Journey's End. Meanwhile, Albert and the girls look for ways to stop the encroaching boundary, coming across an ancient Scottish spell that requires magic, a quest, and a sacrifice."

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780399169601
  • ISBN-10: 0399169601
  • Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
  • Publish Date: October 2016
  • Page Count: 304
  • Reading Level: Ages 9-12
  • Dimensions: 8.3 x 5.5 x 1.1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.95 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Fantasy & Magic
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Action & Adventure - General
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Social Themes - Friendship

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2016-09-05
  • Reviewer: Staff

Adventure and friendship are the hallmarks of Hawkinss (the Rebel Belle series) magical, mystical tale of a small Scottish town and the encroaching fog that threatens it. Nolie Stanhope, 12, is visiting Journeys End to spend time with her scientist father, who is studying a strange weather phenomenon known as the Boundary. Bel is the same age as Nolie and grew up in town, surrounded by stories of the mysterious fog that now keeps the town afloat with tourism. On the way to becoming friends, the two girls encounter Albert, a 12-year-old boy lost to the sea and fog nearly a century earlier. Together, the trio must find a way to keep the Boundary from swallowing up Journeys End forever. Filled with delightful interactions and characterizations, the story meanders happily through local myth and legend, seamlessly blending an American and Scottish perspectives while marrying current events with those of a time long past. Rife with emotion and adventure, Hawkinss novel celebrates the joyful explorations of childhood and the sometimes-difficult lessons learned with age. Ages 812. Agent: Holly Root, Waxman Leavell Literary. (Oct.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews