Coupon
The Joy Luck Club
by Amy Tan


Overview - For readers of Amy Tan's bestselling novel, The Valley of Amazement , revisit her classic tale of mothers and daughters
Four mothers, four daughters, four families whose histories shift with the four winds depending on who's "saying" the stories.
  Read more...

 
Paperback
  • $16.00
  • Members Save 10% Club Price
    $ 14.40

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 84 copies from $6.54
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan
 
 
 
Overview
For readers of Amy Tan's bestselling novel, The Valley of Amazement, revisit her classic tale of mothers and daughters
Four mothers, four daughters, four families whose histories shift with the four winds depending on who's "saying" the stories. In 1949 four Chinese women, recent immigrants to San Francisco, begin meeting to eat dim sum, play mahjong, and talk. United in shared unspeakable loss and hope, they call themselves the Joy Luck Club. Rather than sink into tragedy, they choose to gather to raise their spirits and money. "To despair was to wish back for something already lost. Or to prolong what was already unbearable." Forty years later the stories and history continue.

With wit and sensitivity, Amy Tan examines the sometimes painful, often tender, and always deep connection between mothers and daughters. As each woman reveals her secrets, trying to unravel the truth about her life, the strings become more tangled, more entwined. Mothers boast or despair over daughters, and daughters roll their eyes even as they feel the inextricable tightening of their matriarchal ties. Tan is an astute storyteller, enticing readers to immerse themselves into these lives of complexity and mystery.

"

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780143038092
  • ISBN-10: 0143038095
  • Publisher: Penguin Books
  • Publish Date: September 2006
  • Page Count: 288
  • Reading Level: Ages 18-UP


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Literary

 
BAM Customer Reviews