Coupon
Juana and Lucas
by Juana Medina


Overview - Winner of the 2017 Pura Belpre Author Award

Fans of Judy Moody and Clarice Bean will love Juana, the spunky young Colombian girl who stars in this playful, abundantly illustrated new series.

Juana loves many things -- drawing, eating Brussels sprouts, living in Bogota, Colombia, and especially her dog, Lucas, the best amigo ever.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • $14.99
  • 20% off for Members: Get the Club Price
    $ 11.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock. Place Order by Noon EST December 18th and Choose Free/Standard Shipping for Christmas Delivery.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 18 copies from $10.38
 
 
 
 

More About Juana and Lucas by Juana Medina
 
 
 
Overview
Winner of the 2017 Pura Belpre Author Award

Fans of Judy Moody and Clarice Bean will love Juana, the spunky young Colombian girl who stars in this playful, abundantly illustrated new series.

Juana loves many things -- drawing, eating Brussels sprouts, living in Bogota, Colombia, and especially her dog, Lucas, the best amigo ever. She does not love wearing her itchy school uniform, solving math problems, or going to dance class. And she especially does not love learning the English. Why is it so important to learn a language that makes so little sense? But when Juana's abuelos tell her about a special trip they are planning--one that Juana will need to speak English to go on--Juana begins to wonder whether learning the English might be a good use of her time after all. Hilarious, energetic, and utterly relatable, Juana will win over los corazones -- the hearts -- of readers everywhere in her first adventure, presented by namesake Juana Medina.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780763672089
  • ISBN-10: 0763672084
  • Publisher: Candlewick Press (MA)
  • Publish Date: September 2016
  • Page Count: 96
  • Reading Level: Ages 5-8
  • Dimensions: 9 x 7.3 x 0.6 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.15 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > People & Places - Caribbean & Latin America
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Social Themes - New Experience
Books > Juvenile Fiction > School & Education

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2016-07-11
  • Reviewer: Staff

A Colombian girl takes on her greatest challenge—the English language—in this cheery series opener. Juana lives in Bogotá, where she enjoys life with her family and dog, Lucas. When English is introduced in school, Juana asks everyone she knows if she really has to learn another language. Medina (1 Big Salad) incorporates italicized Spanish words throughout Juana’s first-person narration, always providing enough context clues so that English-speaking readers can do some language-learning of their own (“When a grown-up says something is going to be a ton of fun, it means there will be no fun at all. Not even a single bit of fun. Nada de fun”). Enlarged words and phrases creative type placement help emphasize Juana’s lively attitude as she discovers the ways that English can be useful. Medina’s loose, full-color cartoons and interspersed profiles of the people in Juana’s life add to the overall playfulness of the story. It’s an inviting look at life in Colombia, and readers will probably be struck by just how much they have in common with Juana. Ages 5–8. Agent: Gillian MacKenzie, Gillian MacKenzie Agency. (Sept.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews