Coupon
Julia Vanishes
by Catherine Egan


Overview - "An exciting novel with magic and serial killers.... One of the hottest books coming out."--Hypable.com

Fans of Marie Lu, Leigh Bardugo, and Kristin Cashore will be captivated by this stunning first book in a must-have new fantasy trilogy about a spy who can vanish at will and who discovers that monsters, mystery, and magic are also lurking--just out of sight.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • $17.99
  • 20% off for Members: Get the Club Price
    $ 14.39

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
  • [-] Other Available Formats
    Our Price
    New & Used Marketplace
     
     
    Julia Vanishes (Library Binding)
    Published: 2016-06-07
    Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
    $20.99
     
     
 
 

More About Julia Vanishes by Catherine Egan
 
 
 
Overview
"An exciting novel with magic and serial killers.... One of the hottest books coming out."--Hypable.com

Fans of Marie Lu, Leigh Bardugo, and Kristin Cashore will be captivated by this stunning first book in a must-have new fantasy trilogy about a spy who can vanish at will and who discovers that monsters, mystery, and magic are also lurking--just out of sight.

Julia has the unusual ability to be . . . unseen. Not invisible, exactly. Just beyond most people's senses.

It's a dangerous trait in a city that has banned all forms of magic and drowns witches in public Cleansings. But it's a useful trait for a thief and a spy. And Julia has learned--crime pays.

She's being paid very well indeed to infiltrate the grand house of Mrs. Och and report back on the odd characters who live there and the suspicious dealings that take place behind locked doors.

But what Julia discovers shakes her to the core. She certainly never imagined that the traitor in the house would turn out to be . . . her.

Murder, thievery, witchcraft, betrayal--Catherine Egan builds a dangerous world where her fierce and flawed heroine finds that even a girl who can vanish can't walk away from her own worst deeds.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780553524840
  • ISBN-10: 0553524844
  • Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
  • Publish Date: June 2016
  • Page Count: 384
  • Reading Level: Ages 14-UP
  • Dimensions: 8.3 x 5.7 x 1.3 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.1 pounds

Series: Witch's Child

Related Categories

Books > > Fantasy - General
Books > > Action & Adventure - General
Books > > Mysteries & Detective Stories

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2016-04-11
  • Reviewer: Staff

Egan’s debut novel sparkles with storytelling that skillfully blends elements of steampunk, fantasy, adventure, and magic. First in the Witch’s Child trilogy, it introduces readers to Julia, a young woman who is part spy, part thief, and full of secrets. Julia has thrived ever since she and her brother were taken in by Esme, the matriarch of thieves and cons in Spira City. While working as a maid for—and surreptitiously gathering information about—a wealthy household deemed unconventional by the neighbors, with strange noises heard from the basement and people coming and going at odd hours, Julia uncovers a secret that challenges her morals and sense of decency, but she’s honor bound to share it, with disastrous results. Difficult choices have significant consequences in Egan’s dark, unpredictable tale, and Julia’s progression from a streetwise girl with a crush to a self-aware, self-reliant young woman relies strongly on her journey through conflicting loyalties and examination of long-held biases, especially those against witches. A beautifully rendered world and an exquisite sense of timing ensure a page-turning experience. Ages 14–up. Agent: Steven Malk, Writers House. (June)

 
BAM Customer Reviews