Coupon
Just My Luck
by Cammie McGovern


Overview -

Critically acclaimed author Cammie McGovern's middle grade debut is a powerful and heartwarming story that will appeal to readers who loved R. J. Palacio's Wonder , Ann M. Martin's Rain Reign , and Holly Sloan's Counting by 7s Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • $16.99
  • 20% off for Members: Get the Club Price
    $ 13.59

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Just My Luck by Cammie McGovern
 
 
 
Overview

Critically acclaimed author Cammie McGovern's middle grade debut is a powerful and heartwarming story that will appeal to readers who loved R. J. Palacio's Wonder, Ann M. Martin's Rain Reign, and Holly Sloan's Counting by 7s.

Fourth grade is not going at all how Benny Barrows hoped. He hasn't found a new best friend. He's still not a great bike rider--even though his brother George, who's autistic, can do tricks. And worst of all, he worries his dad's recent accident might be all his fault. Benny tries to take his mom's advice and focus on helping others, and to take things one step at a time. But when his dad ends up in the hospital again, Benny doesn't know how he and his family will overcome all the bad luck that life seems to have thrown their way.

Just My Luck is a deeply moving and rewarding novel about a down-on-his-luck boy whose caring heart ultimately helps him find the strength to cope with tragedy and realize how much he truly has to offer his friends and family.


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780062330659
  • ISBN-10: 0062330659
  • Publisher: HarperCollins
  • Publish Date: February 2016
  • Page Count: 240
  • Reading Level: Ages 8-12


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Social Themes - Special Needs
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Family - General
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Social Themes - Adolescence

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2015-11-09
  • Reviewer: Staff

Benny is a worrier. He worries about his father, who has had a brain aneurysm. He worries about his fourth-grade teacher, who seems increasingly distracted. And he worries about whether he has a best friend and about the mounting evidence that he isnt good at anythingnot bike riding, math, or the acts of kindness his school is encouraging. He doesnt worry about his autistic older brother, George, though. George is George. Sometimes he can do more than his family expects, sometimes he talks to himself and makes strangers uncomfortable, but he always laughs at Bennys jokes. In her first middle-grade novel, McGovern (A Step Toward Falling) brings readers fully into Bennys troubled thoughts, making a clear distinction between the things that he cant control (his fathers health, his brothers autism) and the things that he can. McGoverns thoughtful depiction of a family facing difficult situations without fracturing, coupled with a gentle message about not being too hard on oneself, will surely speak to middle schoolers with their own slate of worries. Ages 812. Agent: Margaret Riley, William Morris Endeavor. (Feb.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews