The King Is Dead
by The Decemberists

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary


More About The King Is Dead by The Decemberists

Track Listing

1 Don't Carry It All
2 Calamity Song
3 Rise to Me
4 Rox in the Box
5 January Hymn
6 Down by the Water
7 All Arise!
8 June Hymn
9 This Is Why We Fight
10 Dear Avery

Genre: Rock & Pop
  • Genre: Popular Music
  • Release Date: January 2011
  • Label: Consolidated Artists Productions
  • Format: CD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Audio Format: Stereo
  • Producer: The Decemberists; Tucker Martine
  • Engineer: Tucker Martine
Music Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Rolling Stone (p.68) - Ranked #7 in Rolling Stone's '50 Best Albums Of 2011' -- "Singer-songwriter Colin Meloy packs his storytelling eccentricities into pop-song packages of verse, hook and country-Smiths jangle..."

Spin (pp.63-66) - "Ten crisp roots-rock tunes in a mere 40 minutes....The singer appears most deeply engaged with THE KING IS DEAD's more direct, plainspoken moments..."

Entertainment Weekly (p.83) - "The band's latest set is more succinctly rewarding than anything it has done in years." -- Grade: A-

Uncut (p.76) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[This is] the Decembrists' most immediate and outgoing album....'Dear Avery' is another sublime essay in memory, separation and regret..."

Uncut (p.32) - Ranked #26 in Uncut's '50 Best Albums Of 2011' -- "[A] clutch of warm, literate country-rock songs."

Alternative Press (p.100) - 3.5 stars out of 5 -- "'January Hymn' and 'June Hymn' flutter by like the gentle campfire ballads they evoke..."

CMJ - "THE KING OF DEAD focuses on what made the Decembrists famous in the first place: Colin Meloy's lyrical oddities and the group's pastoral sound."

Billboard (p.28) - "Lead singer Colin Meloy's irrepressible baritone in all its full-throated glory stands in stark contrast to the unplugged ensemble's dulcet tones."

Mojo (Publisher) (p.106) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "The whole album is warm to the touch....[With] straightforward songs, transparent emotions, a little gift both to their fans and themselves."

Clash (Magazine) - "[H]arking back to the relative simplicity of PICARESQUE, this latest offering is a finessed folk-rock record to bring a little taste of long summer evening drives..."

Customer Reviews