Coupon
Karma Gone Bad : How I Learned to Love Mangos, Bollywood and Water Buffalo
by Jenny Feldon


Overview -

In the tradition of Holy Cow and Undress Me in the Temple of Heaven, a fascinating travel memoir of finding yourself in the India of rickshaws and rainy seasons.

Jenny was miserable, and it was all India's fault...until she realized it wasn't.  Read more...


 
Paperback
  • $14.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

Free Shipping is not available for this item.
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 15 copies from $2.99
 
 
 

More About Karma Gone Bad by Jenny Feldon
 
 
 
Overview

In the tradition of Holy Cow and Undress Me in the Temple of Heaven, a fascinating travel memoir of finding yourself in the India of rickshaws and rainy seasons.

Jenny was miserable, and it was all India's fault...until she realized it wasn't.

When Jenny's husband gets transferred to India for work, she looks forward to a new life filled with glamorous expat friends and exciting adventures. What she doesn't expect is endless bouts of food poisoning, buffalo in the streets, and crippling loneliness in one of the most densely populated countries in the world.
Ten thousand miles away from home, Jenny struggles to fight off depression and anger as her sense of self and her marriage begin to unravel. But after months of bitterness and takeout pizza, Jenny realizes what the universe has been trying to tell her all along: India doesn't need to change. She does. Equal parts frustration, absurdity, and revelation, this is the true story of a Starbucks-loving city girl finding beauty in the chaos and making her way in the land of karma.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781402284229
  • ISBN-10: 1402284225
  • Publisher: Sourcebooks
  • Publish Date: November 2013
  • Page Count: 336
  • Dimensions: 8.23 x 5.6 x 0.91 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.82 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Biography & Autobiography > Cultural Heritage
Books > Biography & Autobiography > Women
Books > Biography & Autobiography > Personal Memoirs

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2013-08-05
  • Reviewer: Staff

Feldon’s life as a pampered New York City princess comes to an end when her husband’s company transfers the couple to India. She chronicles her rocky two-year path to enlightenment in a country she initially resists but eventually comes to admire. In India, Feldon misses her numerous beauty treatments and the latest fashions, as well as the support of the friends and coworkers she relied on in New York. She disparages everything to do with the country and her marriage falters. “Here, I was no one. A parasitic extension of my husband, a hanger-on in the world of corporate transplants.” After a serious divorce discussion during a family Thanksgiving back in the U.S., the couple recommits to their relationship, and throughout the second half of the narrative, Feldon’s attitude shift becomes apparent. “With my new plan in place to embrace all (or at least some) things Indian, Bollywood didn’t seem like a bad place to start.” Feldon’s insights, which were initially disparaging, become keen, and spending time with her is less tedious. Fans of Feldon’s blog, Karma (Continued...), will relish her story, and those not familiar might relate to her experience of overcoming first impressions. Agent: Lauren Galit, LKG Agency. (Nov.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews