Coupon
Kate the Great, Except When She's Not
by Suzy Becker


Overview - Fans of Wimpy Kid and Dork Diaries will love this illustrated series by the "New York Times" bestselling author of "All I Need to Know I Learned from My Cat." Meet Kate Geller, a sassy flute-playing artist, who comes up with an original way to redefine friendship.  Read more...

 
Bargain - Hardcover
  • Retail Price: $12.99
  • $5.00
    (Save 62%)

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist


In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members

What is a Bargain?
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
 
 
 

Customers Also Bought

More About Kate the Great, Except When She's Not by Suzy Becker
 
 
 
Overview

Fans of Wimpy Kid and Dork Diaries will love this illustrated series by the "New York Times" bestselling author of "All I Need to Know I Learned from My Cat." Meet Kate Geller, a sassy flute-playing artist, who comes up with an original way to redefine friendship.
Kate s older sister is way too perfect. Her younger sister is way too cute. And her mom wants her to be pals with her frenemy, Nora. Her art teacher, Mrs. Petty, is way too uncreative, and how can Kate pay attention at Junior Guides when her pod leader has a sweat stain the size of the town beach? Now she has to get through her Christopher Columbus role during Discovery Day and her Colonial Buddies report, but little does she know how much help she ll be getting from Eleanor Roosevelt and Albert Einstein.
This humorous debut novel features more than 350 illustrations.

Praise for "Kate the Great"
"She's funny. Quirky. Original. Kate's the greatest." -Lincoln Peirce, author of "Big Nate
"
"May Kate continue to be this great." "The" "Horn Book"
Becker s first illustrated novel falls neatly in line with many others of its ilk, series such as "Big Nate" and "Diary of a Wimpy Kid" "Booklist"
Becker does an excellent job of channeling the behind-adults -backs humor and friendship frustrations of the middle-school crowd "Publishers Weekly
" Debut novelist Becker employs doodles, cartoons, and comic strips reminiscent of Jeff Kinney s "Diary of a Wimpy" "Kid" and Lincoln Peirce s "Big Nate." "School Library Journal""

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780385387422
  • ISBN-10: 0385387423
  • Publisher: Crown Books for Young Readers
  • Publish Date: August 2014
  • Page Count: 262
  • Reading Level: Ages 8-12

Related Categories

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2014-06-16
  • Reviewer: Staff

In this illustrated diary-style novel, Becker (Everything I Need to Know I Learned from My Cat) fills her prose and accompanying line illustrations with entertaining observational comedy. Fifth-grade spitfire Kate Geller groans when her mother asks her to “show extra kindness” to a standoffish classmate, Nora, while Nora’s father is away on an extended business trip to Hong Kong. “Maybe he can take Nora with him,” Kate scoffs, above an image of Nora strapped to a jet. “Kate, that’s not funny,” her mother responds. “Translation: That is funny but it’s not nice.” Kate’s valiant, if disgruntled, efforts to befriend Nora lead to some humorous dilemmas, and Becker supplements Kate’s school-day tribulations with snippets of home life, enlivened by her warm, quick-witted parents (the family’s dinner conversations revolve around prompts and quotes pulled out of “Bob,” the “Big Ol’ Bowl” that sits on the table). Becker does an excellent job of channeling the behind-adults’-backs humor and friendship frustrations of the middle-school crowd, and Kate’s doodles provide extra sass to this promising series launch. Ages 8–12. Agent: Edite Kroll, Edite Kroll Literary Agency. (Aug.)

 
Customer Reviews