I Love You, Honeybear
by Father John Misty

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary


More About I Love You, Honeybear by Father John Misty

Track Listing

1 I Love You, Honeybear
2 Chateau Lobby #4 (In C for Two Virgins)
3 True Affection
4 Night Josh Tillman Came to Our Apt., The
5 When You're Smiling and Astride Me
6 Nothing Good Ever Happens at the Goddamn Thirsty Crow
7 Strange Encounter
8 Ideal Husband, The
9 Bored in the USA
10 Holy Shit
11 I Went to the Store One Day

Genre: Rock & Pop
  • Genre: Popular Music
  • Release Date: February 2015
  • Label: Sub Pop (USA)
  • Format: CD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Audio Format: Stereo
  • Producer: Jonathan Wilson; Josh Tillman
  • Engineer: Bryce Gonzales
Music Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Rolling Stone - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[A]n autobiographical set about love, marriage and derangement that's both ironic and empathic -- an approach connecting him less to his previous band, Fleet Foxes, than to the SoCal tradition of Randy Newman, Harry Nilsson and Beck."

Spin - "[The] stream-of-consciousness enthusiasm buoys the album as he wraps his songs in a lovestuck, string-laden bow, complete with quivering banjos."

Entertainment Weekly - "Every tune is loaded with gorgeous strings, twangy guitars, and Tillman's angelic voice."

Billboard - "If there's a funnier, stranger and more touchingly bizarre album released this year, it will be a very good year indeed."

NME (Magazine) - "[H]e saves the best for a piano ballad, previous single 'Bored In The USA', which undercuts the lyric's narcissism with a canned-laughter track -- an exquisite touch, and a song Randy Newman would kill to have written, you suspect."

Paste (magazine) - "[T]he LP's most striking moments meditate on the sublime and deeply complicated art of sharing life with a single partner."

Pitchfork (Website) - "An album by turns passionate and disillusioned, tender and angry, so cynical it's repulsive and so openhearted it hurts. Misty is at root a folksinger..."

Clash (magazine) - "It makes for an album that constantly excavates your mind and soul....HONEYBEAR is easily a masterpiece and already one of the best albums of 2015."

Customer Reviews