Lady of the English
by Elizabeth Chadwick


Overview -

From USA Today bestselling author Elizabeth Chadwick comes a gripping, never-before-told, medieval battle of the sexes

Matilda, daughter of Henry I, knows that there are those who will not accept her as England's queen when her father dies.  Read more...


 
In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 36 copies from $3.48
 
eBook
Retail Price: $9.99
$6.64

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 

More About Lady of the English by Elizabeth Chadwick
 
 
 
Overview

From USA Today bestselling author Elizabeth Chadwick comes a gripping, never-before-told, medieval battle of the sexes

Matilda, daughter of Henry I, knows that there are those who will not accept her as England's queen when her father dies. But the men who support her rival, and cousin, Stephen do not know the iron will that drives her. She will win her inheritance against all odds, and despite all men.

Adeliza, Henry's widowed queen and Matilda's stepmother, is now married to William D'Albini, a warrior who is fighting to keep Matilda off the throne. But Adeliza, born with a strength that can sustain her through heartrending pain, knows that the crown belongs to a woman this time.

Both women will stand and fight for what they know is right. But for Matilda, pride comes before a fall. And for Adeliza, even the deepest love is no proof against fate.

Written with vivid detail and great historical accuracy, Lady of the English is a captivating historical novel of Medieval England. Fans of Philippa Gregory, Alison Weir, Sharon Kay Penman, and Bernard Cornwall will be spellbound by this well-crafted story of Henry I's daughter, his widow, and their alliance and perseverance as they fight for the rightful heir to the crown--a woman

What reviewers are saying about Lady of the English
"Lady of the English is a riveting historical fiction novel with thrilling drama and characters that fairly leap off of the page."--Laura's Reviews
"A detailed and very readable medieval era novel full of political intrigue and fascinating depictions of the people surrounding the throne of England."--Historical-Fiction.com
"The story is vividly described with a depth of historical detail that is rarely matched by other novelists in the genre."--Historical Novel Review Blog


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781402250927
  • ISBN-10: 1402250924
  • Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark
  • Publish Date: September 2011
  • Page Count: 514
  • Dimensions: 1.25 x 5.25 x 8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.2 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Historical - General

 
BAM Customer Reviews