Coupon
Lady of the English
by Elizabeth Chadwick


Overview - From USA Today bestselling author Elizabeth Chadwick comes a gripping, never-before-told, medieval battle of the sexes

Matilda, daughter of Henry I, knows that there are those who will not accept her as England's queen when her father dies.  Read more...


 
Paperback
  • $14.99
  • 20% off for Members: Get the Club Price
    $ 11.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 36 copies from $4.47
 
 
 

More About Lady of the English by Elizabeth Chadwick
 
 
 
Overview
From USA Today bestselling author Elizabeth Chadwick comes a gripping, never-before-told, medieval battle of the sexes

Matilda, daughter of Henry I, knows that there are those who will not accept her as England's queen when her father dies. But the men who support her rival, and cousin, Stephen do not know the iron will that drives her. She will win her inheritance against all odds, and despite all men.

Adeliza, Henry's widowed queen and Matilda's stepmother, is now married to William D'Albini, a warrior who is fighting to keep Matilda off the throne. But Adeliza, born with a strength that can sustain her through heartrending pain, knows that the crown belongs to a woman this time.

Both women will stand and fight for what they know is right. But for Matilda, pride comes before a fall. And for Adeliza, even the deepest love is no proof against fate.

Written with vivid detail and great historical accuracy, Lady of the English is a captivating historical novel of Medieval England. Fans of Philippa Gregory, Alison Weir, Sharon Kay Penman, and Bernard Cornwall will be spellbound by this well-crafted story of Henry I's daughter, his widow, and their alliance and perseverance as they fight for the rightful heir to the crown-a woman

More Medieval Historical Fiction Titles from Elizabeth Chadwick:
The Greatest Knight-the seldom told story of the Greatest Knight of the Middle Ages
The Summer Queen a novel of Eleanor of Aquitaine
To Defy a King-the story of a noble woman in a tyrant's worldWhat readers are saying about Lady of the English

"Great historical details and world-building combined with out-of-this-world characterization."

"Everything about this story was compelling, and though it was a long book of 514 pages, I enjoyed every word."

"I was from the start deeply immersed into the lives and politics of the times."

"As absorbing as a thriller and full of fascinating historical detail."What reviewers are saying about Lady of the English

"Lady of the English is a riveting historical fiction novel with thrilling drama and characters that fairly leap off of the page."-Laura's Reviews

"A detailed and very readable medieval era novel full of political intrigue and fascinating depictions of the people surrounding the throne of England."-Historical-Fiction.com

"The story is vividly described with a depth of historical detail that is rarely matched by other novelists in the genre."-Historical Novel Review BlogWhat people are saying about bestselling author Elizabeth Chadwick

"A star back in Britain, Elizabeth Chadwick is finally getting the attention she deserves here." USA Today

"Elizabeth Chadwick is to Medieval England what Philippa Gregory is to the Tudors and the Stuarts, and Bernard Cornwall to the Dark Ages."-Books Monthly, UK

"The best writer of medieval fiction currently around." -Historical Novels Review

"Chadwick is an icon for the historical fiction community for her ability to create a believable and passionate story based around major events of the era."-The Burton Review

"Breathing life into historical personages is hallmark Chadwick."-RT Book Reviews

"Picking up an Elizabeth Chadwick novel is like having a Bentley draw up at your door: you know you are in for a sumptuous ride." Daily Telegraph"

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781402250927
  • ISBN-10: 1402250924
  • Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark
  • Publish Date: September 2011
  • Page Count: 544


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Historical - General
Books > Fiction > Literary

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2011-07-25
  • Reviewer: Staff

Prolific historical novelist Chadwick's latest (after To Defy a King) delves deep into the political intrigue of 12th-century Britain after the death of Henry I, and the contest for the throne between Empress Matilda and Stephen of Blois. After the death of her husband, the Emperor of Germany, Matilda returns to England, where Henry I declares her as his successor. But Matilda's cousin Stephen, hungry for power and, like others, unhappy with the idea of a female ruler, makes a successful grab for the throne. Now unhappily remarried to the equally greedy and unpleasant Geoffrey of Anjou, Matilda works to reclaim her crown. Partly for her own honor, but also to ensure the succession of her sons, she launches England into a bloody civil war. Chadwick's depiction of the Middle Ages is sure and subtle, building the reality of daily life with ease, and her skill in imagining the private conversations that led to the great decisions of their time is enjoyable. Though the complexity of the plot drowns what little personality the characters have time to develop, the pace of the story and Chadwick's solid research will engage fans of heavy historical fiction. (Sept.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews