Coupon
Ladybug Girl and Bumblebee Boy
by David Soman and Jacky Davis


Overview - This hardcover picture book in the "New York Times" bestselling "Ladybug Girl" series explores themes of making friends, compromise, and imaginative play at that favorite preschool place the playground.
Lulu and her dog Bingo meet up with Sam on the playground and want to play together.
  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • Retail Price: $17.99
  • $13.49
    (Save 25%)
  • Members Save 10% Club Price
    $ 12.14

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 49 copies from $2.99
 
 
 

More About Ladybug Girl and Bumblebee Boy by David Soman; Jacky Davis
 
 
 
Overview
This hardcover picture book in the "New York Times" bestselling "Ladybug Girl" series explores themes of making friends, compromise, and imaginative play at that favorite preschool place the playground.
Lulu and her dog Bingo meet up with Sam on the playground and want to play together. Sam likes the sandbox but Lulu thinks the monkey bars are better. They just can t agree until Lulu asks, Have you ever played Ladybug Girl? Quickly, Sam becomes the brave Bumblebee Boy, and he and Lulu, a.k.a Ladybug Girl, are superheroes who save the playground from scary monsters and mean robots. New friends want to join their game too, and soon the Bug Squad is formed with Ladybug Girl, Bumblebee Boy, Dragonfly Girl, and Butterfly Girl using their imaginations to keep the playground safe.
For fans of "Toot and Puddle" and "The Amazing Adventures of Bumblebee Boy, "the "Ladybug Girl" series honors friendship, cooperation, and a love of the outdoors "

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780803733398
  • ISBN-10: 0803733399
  • Publisher: Dial Books
  • Publish Date: March 2009
  • Page Count: 40
  • Reading Level: Ages 3-5

Series: Ladybug Girl

Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Imagination & Play
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Social Themes - Friendship

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page 49.
  • Review Date: 2009-02-23
  • Reviewer: Staff

What's a superhero without a sidekick? Lulu, star of last year's Ladybug Girl, meets her friend Sam at the playground, but before they can join forces, they must first agree on what to play—a sequence handled with understanding and humor. At one point, Lulu hits on the idea of using the seesaw: “She runs over and sits down on one side of the seesaw and waits. And waits. Sam just stands there, not getting on.” Ultimately, intrigued by Lulu's suggestion of a game involving superpowers, Sam becomes Bumblebee Boy, with his striped shirt and a stick for a stinger. Together they battle the Mean Robot (tire swing) that threatens to “crush the playground” (“Ladybug Girl grabs on, and jumps on top of its head! Bumblebee Boy stings it with his stinger again and again”) and attract some new heroes, too. Soman's pen-and-ink characters are remarkably emotive—this is a story that delights in children's enthusiastic imaginations. Also noteworthy is the team's pacing: there's no dead air, and all the action plays naturally. A favorite series in the making. Ages 3–5. (Mar.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews