Coupon
Ladybug Girl
by David Soman and Jacky Davis


Overview - The first hardcover picture book in the New York Times bestselling Ladybug Girl series, which encourages independence and creative play, and celebrates imagination for every preschool child
When Lulu puts on her ladybug costume, she becomes Ladybug Girl, a superhero who uses her imagination to have adventures right in her own backyard.
  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • $17.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 80 copies from $2.99
 
 
 

More About Ladybug Girl by David Soman; Jacky Davis
 
 
 
Overview
The first hardcover picture book in the New York Times bestselling Ladybug Girl series, which encourages independence and creative play, and celebrates imagination for every preschool child
When Lulu puts on her ladybug costume, she becomes Ladybug Girl, a superhero who uses her imagination to have adventures right in her own backyard. Her dog, Bingo the basset hound, is always by her side and the two prove that they are not too little to explore nature, build forts, and make their own big fun.
For fans of Fancy Nancy and Toot and Puddle, the Ladybug Girl series honors individuality, creativity, and a love of the outdoors

"

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780803731950
  • ISBN-10: 0803731957
  • Publisher: Dial Books
  • Publish Date: March 2008
  • Page Count: 32
  • Reading Level: Ages 3-5

Series: Ladybug Girl

Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Imagination & Play
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Family - Siblings

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page 45.
  • Review Date: 2008-03-03
  • Reviewer: Staff

Preschooler Lulu, told to amuse herself, mopes about for a bit, then finds that her ladybug costume—red tutu, wings, red polka-dot boots and a headband with antennae—helps her morph into a bigger, braver character. “Is that rock in your way, ants?” she asks. “I can help you! I'm Ladybug Girl!” Similarly heroic deeds follow as Lulu makes the case that, contrary to her older brother's claim, she's not little—she feels “as big as the whole outdoors.” Husband-and-wife team Soman and Davis's first collaboration shows potential. Little girls whose confidence, ambition and dress-up collections outrun their actual ages will recognize themselves in Lulu, and parents may enjoy her, too. The characterization is believable and the visual pacing solid, and the family's basset hound, his movements echoing Lulu's, serves as a likable foil. The chatty text, however, often explains what's already shown, and the narrative perspective sometimes appears to waver between adult and child (“Lulu can't read yet, but she knows her letters. She finds a lot of L's”). Ages 4-up. (Mar.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews