The Land of Forgotten Girls
by Erin Entrada Kelly


Overview -

In this acclaimed novel from Newbery Medalist Erin Entrada Kelly, two sisters from the Philippines, abandoned by their father and living in impoverished circumstances in Louisiana, fight to make their lives better.

School Library Journal called The Land of Forgotten Girls "A charming and affecting novel about sisterhood, the magic of imagination, and perseverance." For readers of Pam Mu oz Ryan, Rita Williams-Garcia, and anyone searching for the true meaning of family.  Read more...


 
Limited Availability. Allow Additional 2-4 Weeks for Shipping.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 18 copies from $4.49
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About The Land of Forgotten Girls by Erin Entrada Kelly
 
 
 
Overview

In this acclaimed novel from Newbery Medalist Erin Entrada Kelly, two sisters from the Philippines, abandoned by their father and living in impoverished circumstances in Louisiana, fight to make their lives better.

School Library Journal called The Land of Forgotten Girls "A charming and affecting novel about sisterhood, the magic of imagination, and perseverance." For readers of Pam Mu oz Ryan, Rita Williams-Garcia, and anyone searching for the true meaning of family. Winner of a Parents' Choice Gold Award.

Soledad has always been able to escape into the stories she creates. Just like her mother always could. And Soledad has needed that escape more than ever in the five years since her mother and sister died, and her father moved Sol and her youngest sister from the Philippines to Louisiana. After her father leaves, all Sol and Ming have is their evil stepmother, Vea. Sol has protected Ming all this time, but then Ming begins to believe that Auntie Jove--their mythical, world-traveling aunt--is really going to come rescue them. Can Sol protect Ming from this impossible hope?

Acclaimed and award-winning author Erin Entrada Kelly writes masterfully about the challenges of finding hope in impossible circumstances, in this novel that will appeal to fans of Cynthia Kadohata and Thanhha Lai.

Booklist said, "Kelly's sophomore novel is both hopeful and heartfelt, but strong emotions are only part of the successful equation here. Told in Sol's true voice, the direct dialogue brings the diverse characters to vivid life."


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780062238658
  • ISBN-10: 0062238655
  • Publisher: Greenwillow Books
  • Publish Date: February 2017
  • Page Count: 320
  • Reading Level: Ages 8-12
  • Dimensions: 7.6 x 5.1 x 0.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.48 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Social Themes - Emigration & Immigration
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Family - Siblings
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Family - Alternative Family

 
BAM Customer Reviews